advertisement
Artificial Intelligence News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Humans in the Loop Help Robots Find Their Way

Computer scientists develop a method that allows humans to help complex robots build efficient solutions to 'see' their environments and carry out ...

Tiny Fish-Shaped Robot 'Swims' Around Picking Up Microplastics

Microplastics are found nearly everywhere on Earth and can be harmful to animals if they're ingested. But it's hard to remove such tiny particles from the environment, especially once they settle ...

Technology Helps Self-Driving Cars Learn from Own 'Memories'

Researchers have developed a way to help autonomous vehicles create 'memories' of previous experiences and use them in future navigation, especially during adverse weather conditions when the car ...

Robotic Lightning Bugs Take Flight

Inspired by fireflies, researchers created soft actuators that can emit light in different colors or patterns. These artificial muscles, which control the wings of featherweight flying robots, light ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:07pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Creating Artificial Intelligence That Acts More Human by 'Knowing That It Knows'

Development of metamemory in AI system allows it to adjust its understanding based on what it already knows, learning and evolving based on its environment as humans ...

Researchers Investigate the Links Between Facial Recognition and Alzheimer's Disease

In recent years Alzheimer's disease has been on the rise throughout the world and is rarely diagnosed at an early stage when it can still be effectively controlled. Using artificial ...

Tiny Robotic Crab Is Smallest-Ever Remote-Controlled Walking Robot

Engineers have developed the smallest-ever remote-controlled walking robot -- and it comes in the form of a tiny, adorable peekytoe crab. Just a half-millimeter wide, the tiny crabs can bend, twist, ...

Roboticists Go Off Road to Compile Data That Could Train Self-Driving ATVs

Researchers took an all-terrain vehicle on wild rides through tall grass, loose gravel and mud to gather data about how the ATV interacted with a challenging, off-road environment. They drove the ...

Significant Energy Savings Using Neuromorphic Hardware

New research illustrates neuromorphic technology is up to sixteen times more energy-efficient for large deep learning networks than other AI ...

Researchers Develop Algorithm to Divvy Up Tasks for Human-Robot Teams

Researchers have developed an algorithmic planner that helps delegate tasks to humans and robots. The planner, 'Act, Delegate or Learn' (ADL), considers a list of tasks and decides how best ...

Twisted Soft Robots Navigate Mazes Without Human or Computer Guidance

Researchers have developed soft robots that are capable of navigating complex environments, such as mazes, without input from humans or computer ...

Novel AI Algorithm for Digital Pathology Analysis

Digital pathology is an emerging field which deals with mainly microscopy images that are derived from patient biopsies. Because of the high resolution, most of these whole slide images (WSI) have a ...

Charting a Safe Course Through a Highly Uncertain Environment

Researchers have developed a trajectory-planning system for autonomous vehicles that enables them to travel from a starting point to a target location safely, even when there are many different ...

Neuromorphic Memory Device Simulates Neurons and Synapses

Researchers have reported a nano-sized neuromorphic memory device that emulates neurons and synapses simultaneously in a unit cell, another step toward completing the goal of neuromorphic computing ...

Using Everyday WiFi to Help Robots See and Navigate Better Indoors

Engineers have developed a low cost, low power technology to help robots accurately map their way indoors, even in poor lighting and without recognizable landmarks or features. The technology uses ...

Accelerating the Pace of Machine Learning

Machine learning happens a lot like erosion. Data is hurled at a mathematical model like grains of sand skittering across a rocky landscape. Some of those grains simply sail along with little or no ...

Energy-Efficient AI Hardware Technology Via a Brain-Inspired Stashing System?

Researchers have proposed a novel system inspired by the neuromodulation of the brain, referred to as a 'stashing system,' that requires less energy consumption. Computer scientists have ...

Electronic Skin: Physicist Develops Multisensory Hybrid Material

Recently developed 'smart skin' is very similar to human skin. It senses pressure, humidity and temperature simultaneously and produces electronic signals. More sensitive robots or more ...

'Nanomagnetic' Computing Can Provide Low-Energy AI

Researchers have shown it is possible to perform artificial intelligence using tiny nanomagnets that interact like neurons in the ...

Taste of the Future: Robot Chef Learns to 'Taste as You Go'

A robot 'chef' has been trained to taste food at different stages of the chewing process to assess whether it's sufficiently ...

From Blurry to Bright: AI Tech Helps Researchers Peer Into the Brains of Mice

Biomedical engineers have developed an artificial intelligence (AI) training strategy to capture images of mouse brain cells in action. The researchers say the AI system, in concert with specialized ...

Microrobot Collectives Display Versatile Movement Patterns

Collective behavior and swarm patterns are found everywhere in nature. Robots can also be programmed to act in swarms. Researchers have developed collectives of microrobots, which they can move in ...

An Easier Way to Teach Robots New Skills

Researchers have developed a technique that enables a robot to learn a new pick-and-place task with only a handful of human demonstrations. This could allow a human to reprogram a robot to grasp ...

Using AI to Detect Cancer from Patient Data Securely

A new way of using artificial intelligence to predict cancer from patient data without putting personal information at risk has been developed. Swarm learning can be used to help computers predict ...

Friday, June 3, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Tuesday, April 19, 2022
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Tuesday, March 29, 2022
Thursday, March 24, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Friday, March 11, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Monday, March 7, 2022
Friday, March 4, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Monday, February 21, 2022
Wednesday, February 16, 2022
Monday, February 14, 2022
Friday, February 11, 2022
Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Friday, January 28, 2022
Wednesday, January 26, 2022
Tuesday, January 25, 2022
Friday, January 21, 2022
Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Friday, January 7, 2022
Wednesday, January 5, 2022
Monday, December 27, 2021
Tuesday, December 21, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Monday, December 13, 2021
Friday, December 10, 2021
Wednesday, December 8, 2021
Thursday, December 2, 2021
Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Monday, November 29, 2021
Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Thursday, November 18, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Tuesday, November 9, 2021
Friday, November 5, 2021
Thursday, November 4, 2021
Tuesday, November 2, 2021
Friday, October 29, 2021
Thursday, October 28, 2021
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Monday, October 18, 2021
Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Thursday, October 7, 2021
Wednesday, October 6, 2021
Tuesday, October 5, 2021