advertisement
Quantum Computers News
June 26, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Topological Superconductors: Fertile Ground for Elusive Majorana ('angel') Particle

A new review investigates the search of Majorana fermions in iron-based superconductors. The elusive Majorana fermion, or 'angel particle' ...

Quantum Simulator Delivers New Insight

A quantum simulator is giving physicists a clear look at spin-charge separation, a bizarre phenomenon in which two parts of indivisible particles called electrons travel at different speeds in ...

What Quantum Information and Snowflakes Have in Common, and What We Can Do About It

Qubits, the basic building blocks of quantum computers, are as fragile as snowflakes. Now, researchers have come up with a new way of reading out the ...

The Potential of Probabilistic Computers

The rise of artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) has created a crisis in computing and a significant need for more hardware that is both energy-efficient and scalable. A key step in ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:07am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

An Atomic-Scale Window Into Superconductivity Paves the Way for New Quantum Materials

Superconductors are materials with no electrical resistance whatsoever, commonly requiring extremely low temperatures. They are used in a wide range of domains, from medical applications to a central ...

Time Crystals 'Impossible' but Obey Quantum Physics

Scientists have created a 'time-crystal' a two-body system in an experiment that seems to bend the laws of physics. A 'two-level system' is a basic building block of a quantum ...

Researchers Teleport Quantum Information Across Rudimentary Quantum Network

Researchers have succeeded in teleporting quantum information across a rudimentary network. This first of its kind is an important step towards a future quantum Internet. This breakthrough was made ...

Toward Error-Free Quantum Computing

For quantum computers to be useful in practice, errors must be detected and corrected. A team of experimental physicists has now implemented a universal set of computational operations on ...

Secure Communication With Light Particles

While quantum computers offer many novel possibilities, they also pose a threat to internet security since these supercomputers make common encryption methods vulnerable. Based on the so-called ...

Breakthrough in Quantum Universal Gate Sets: A High-Fidelity iToffoli Gate

Researchers have demonstrated the first three-qubit high-fidelity iToffoli native gate in a superconducting quantum information processor and in a single step. This demonstration adds a novel ...

Emulating Impossible 'Unipolar' Laser Pulses Paves the Way for Processing Quantum Information

A laser pulse that sidesteps the inherent symmetry of light waves could manipulate quantum information, potentially bringing us closer to room temperature quantum ...

Scientists Use Quantum Computers to Simulate Quantum Materials

Researchers have used quantum computers to simulate spin defects, an important material property for the next generation of quantum ...

Interplay Between Charge Order and Superconductivity at Nanoscale

Scientists have been relentlessly working on understanding the fundamental mechanisms at the base of high-temperature superconductivity with the ultimate goal to design and engineer new quantum ...

Researchers Create Photonic Materials for Powerful, Efficient Light-Based Computing

Researchers are developing new photonic materials that could one day help enable low power, ultra-fast, light-based computing. The unique materials, known as topological insulators, are like wires ...

Going Gentle on Mechanical Quantum Systems

Systems in which mechanical motion is controlled at the level of individual quanta are emerging as a promising quantum-?technology platform. New experimental work now establishes how quantum ...

When Quan­tum Par­ti­cles Fly Like Bees

A quantum system with only 51 charged atoms can take on more than two quadrillion different states. Calculating the system's behavior is child's play for a quantum simulator. But verifying ...

One Particle on Two Paths: Quantum Physics Is Right

The famous double slit experiment shows that particles can travel on two paths at the same time -- but only by looking at a lot of particles and analysing the results statistically. Now a ...

Scientists Discovers New Properties of Magnetism That Could Change Our Computers

A fundamental property of magnetism has been disclosed through new research. The discovery may be key to development of a new generation of powerful ...

Researchers Find Way to Form Diodes from Superconductors

Researchers have demonstrated how a heterostructure consisting of superconductors and magnets can be used to create uni-directional current like that found in semiconductor ...

Computational Sleuthing Confirms First 3D Quantum Spin Liquid

Computational detective work by physicists has confirmed cerium zirconium pyrochlore is a 3D quantum spin liquid, a solid material in which quantum entanglement and the geometric arrangement of atoms ...

It Takes Three to Tangle: Long-Range Quantum Entanglement Needs Three-Way Interaction

A theoretical study shows that long-range entanglement can indeed survive at temperatures above absolute zero, if the correct conditions are ...

In Balance: Quantum Computing Needs the Right Combination of Order and Disorder

Researchers have analyzed cutting-edge device structures of quantum computers to demonstrate that some of them are indeed operating dangerously close to a threshold of chaotic meltdown. The challenge ...

Scientists Observe Quantum Speed-Up in Optimization Problems

Scientists have demonstrated a breakthrough application of neutral-atom quantum processors to solve problems of practical ...

The Quest for an Ideal Quantum Bit

Scientists have developed a qubit platform formed by freezing neon gas into a solid, spraying electrons from a light bulb's filament onto it, and trapping a single electron there. This system ...

Friday, June 3, 2022
Thursday, June 2, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Friday, May 13, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Friday, May 6, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Friday, April 29, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Friday, April 22, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Thursday, April 7, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Friday, March 25, 2022
Thursday, March 24, 2022
Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Wednesday, March 9, 2022
Monday, March 7, 2022
Friday, March 4, 2022
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Monday, February 28, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Thursday, February 17, 2022
Monday, February 14, 2022
Friday, February 11, 2022
Friday, February 4, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Monday, January 31, 2022
Friday, January 28, 2022
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Wednesday, January 26, 2022
Tuesday, January 25, 2022
Monday, January 24, 2022
Thursday, January 20, 2022
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Friday, January 7, 2022
Thursday, January 6, 2022
Wednesday, January 5, 2022
Wednesday, December 22, 2021