advertisement
Virtual Reality News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Supernumerary Virtual Robotic Arms Can Feel Like Part of Our Body

Researchers have developed a virtual robotic limb system which can be operated by users' feet in a virtual environment as extra, or supernumerary, limbs. After training, users reported feeling like ...

Ultra-Thin Film Creates Vivid 3D Images With Large Field of View

Researchers have developed a new ultra-thin film that can create detailed 3D images viewable under normal illumination without any special reading devices. The images appear to float on top of the ...

Training Virtually Can Reduce Psychosocial Stress and Anxiety

Everyone knows that exercise brings physical and psychological benefits. A new study suggests that virtual reality exercise induces similar effects, meaning those with limited mobility may be able to ...

Haptics Device Creates Realistic Virtual Textures

Tactile sensation is an incredibly important part of how humans perceive their reality. Haptics or devices that can produce extremely specific vibrations that can mimic the sensation of touch are a ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:37pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Staring at Yourself During Virtual Chats May Worsen Your Mood

A new study finds that the more a person stares at themself while talking with a partner in an online chat, the more their mood degrades over the course of the conversation. Alcohol use appears to ...

Immersive VR: Empowering Kids to Survive in Fire, Flood, and War

When you live in the driest State in the driest country in the world, bushfires are an unfortunate, and all-too-regular part of life. Learning how to survive such emergencies is important for all ...

How Did Visitors Experience the Domestic Space in Pompeii?

Researchers have used virtual reality and 3D eye-tracking technology to examine what drew the attention of the visitors when entering the stunning environment of an ancient Roman house. The team ...

Adding AI to Museum Exhibits Increases Learning, Keeps Kids Engaged Longer

Researchers have demonstrated a more effective way to support learning and increase engagement at science-focused museum exhibits. They used artificial intelligence to create a new genre of ...

Active Video Games Provide Alternative Workout

Working out isn't known for being fun. But new active video and virtual reality games may help change that. Exergaming, or active video gaming, may be the perfect introduction to helping people ...

Intensity Control of Projectors in Parallel: A Doorway to an Augmented Reality Future

A challenge to adopting augmented reality (AR) in wider applications is working with dynamic objects, owing to a delay between their movement and the projection of light onto their new position. But, ...

Stackable 'Holobricks' Can Make Giant 3D Images

Researchers have developed a new method to display highly realistic holographic images using 'holobricks' that can be stacked together to generate large-scale ...

Are Conferences Worth the Time and Money?

Scientists who interact with others during assigned sessions at conferences are more likely to form productive collaborations than scientists who do not, researchers found. And the kicker? It ...

Chemical Reaction Design Goes Virtual

Researchers aim to streamline the time- and resource-intensive process of screening ligands during catalyst design by using virtual ...

Researchers Use Flat Lenses to Extend Viewing Distance for 3D Display

Researchers have demonstrated a prototype glasses-free 3D light field display system with a significantly extended viewing distance thanks to a newly developed flat lens. The system is an important ...

Simulated Human Eye Movement Aims to Train Metaverse Platforms

Computer engineers have developed virtual eyes that simulate how humans look at the world accurately enough for companies to train virtual reality and augmented reality programs. Called EyeSyn for ...

Temperature Variation Could Help New Touchscreen Technology Simulate Virtual Shapes

High-fidelity touch has the potential to significantly expand the scope of what we expect from computing devices, making new remote sensory experiences possible. The research on these advancements ...

Mammoths, Meet the Metaverse

Paleontologists from La Brea Tar Pits develop a whole herd of scientifically accurate extinct animals to use in AR and ...

Computer Drug Simulations Offer Warning About Promising Diabetes and Cancer Treatment

Using computer drug simulations, researchers have found that doctors need to be wary of prescribing a promising treatment for all types of cancer and ...

New Methods for Network Visualizations Enable Change of Perspectives and Views

Researchers have developed a new method for generating network layouts that allow for visualizing different information of a network in two- and three-dimensional virtual space and exploring ...

How a Single Nerve Cell Can Multiply

Neurons are constantly performing complex calculations to process sensory information and infer the state of the environment. For example, to localize a sound or to recognize the direction of visual ...

Artificial Intelligence Tutoring Outperforms Expert Instructors in Neurosurgical Training

The COVID-19 pandemic has presented both challenges and opportunities for medical training. Remote learning technology has become increasingly important in several fields. A new study finds that in a ...

Forget Handheld Virtual Reality Controllers: A Smile, Frown or Clench Will Suffice

An international team of researchers has taken facial recognition technology to the next level, using a person's expression to manipulate objects in a virtual reality setting without the use of ...

Where Did That Sound Come From?

Neuroscientists developed a computer model that can localize sounds. The model, which consists of several convolutional neural networks, not only performs the task as well as humans do, it also ...

A Virtual Reality 'Shopping Task' Could Help Test for Cognitive Decline in Adults

New research suggests that a virtual reality test in which participants 'go to the shops' could offer a potentially promising way of effectively assessing functional cognition, the thinking ...

Monday, June 13, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Monday, March 7, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Monday, February 28, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Friday, February 18, 2022
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Wednesday, January 26, 2022
Friday, January 21, 2022
Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Wednesday, January 5, 2022
Friday, December 17, 2021
Wednesday, December 15, 2021
Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Wednesday, November 17, 2021
Thursday, November 4, 2021
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Thursday, October 14, 2021
Tuesday, October 5, 2021
Monday, October 4, 2021
Thursday, September 30, 2021
Tuesday, September 28, 2021
Monday, September 27, 2021
Tuesday, September 21, 2021
Monday, September 20, 2021
Friday, September 10, 2021
Tuesday, August 31, 2021
Thursday, August 26, 2021
Wednesday, August 25, 2021
Wednesday, August 18, 2021
Friday, August 13, 2021
Wednesday, August 11, 2021
Tuesday, August 10, 2021
Monday, August 2, 2021
Wednesday, July 21, 2021
Monday, July 19, 2021
Friday, July 9, 2021
Wednesday, July 7, 2021
Tuesday, July 6, 2021
Thursday, July 1, 2021
Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Monday, June 21, 2021
Wednesday, June 9, 2021
Thursday, May 20, 2021
Friday, May 14, 2021
Thursday, May 13, 2021
Wednesday, May 12, 2021
Tuesday, May 11, 2021
Monday, May 10, 2021
Friday, May 7, 2021
Wednesday, May 5, 2021
Wednesday, April 28, 2021
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Thursday, March 25, 2021
Monday, March 22, 2021
Wednesday, March 10, 2021
Tuesday, March 9, 2021
Monday, March 8, 2021
Friday, March 5, 2021
Thursday, February 11, 2021
Wednesday, February 10, 2021
Monday, February 1, 2021
Wednesday, January 27, 2021
Thursday, January 21, 2021
Monday, January 11, 2021
Thursday, December 31, 2020
Monday, December 14, 2020
Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020
Monday, November 23, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Wednesday, November 11, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Wednesday, October 21, 2020