advertisement
Environmental Issues News
June 26, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Stretching of the Continents Drove Ancient Global Warming Event, Say Scientists

Scientists have discovered that stretching of the continents is likely to have caused one of the most extreme and abrupt episodes of global warming ...

Humans Responsible for Over 90% of World's Oil Slicks

Scientists mapping oil pollution across the Earth's oceans have found that more than 90% of chronic oil slicks come from human sources, a much higher proportion than previously ...

Pioneering Study Shows Climate Played Crucial Role in Changing Location of Ancient Coral Reefs

Prehistoric coral reefs dating back up to 250 million years extended much further away from the Earth's equator than today, new research has ...

Could Used Beer Yeast Be the Solution to Heavy Metal Contamination in Water?

A new study finds inactive yeast could be effective as an inexpensive, abundant, and simple material for removing lead contamination from drinking ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:10am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Microplastic Pollution in Montana's Flathead Lake

Scientists have a greater understanding of the amount of microplastics polluting Flathead Lake, the likely sources of these microplastics and what can be done to prevent more from finding their way ...

Can Robotics Help Us Achieve Sustainable Development?

Scientists have assessed how robotics and autonomous systems might facilitate or impede the delivery of the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). Their findings identify key opportunities and key ...

Maine Wild Blueberry Fields Experience Warming Differently Depending on Location, Season, Time, Study Finds

To identify variations in climate across Maine wild blueberry fields at different times of the day and year, researchers analyzed annual and seasonal data from 1980-2020 for Washington, Hancock, ...

Modern Wind Turbines Can More Than Compensate for Decline in Global Wind Resource

Wind energy contributes significantly to the energy sector's sustainable, low-CO2 transformation. However, the efficiency of wind turbines depends on available wind resources and the technical ...

Agriculture Emissions Pose Risks to Health and Climate

Environmental engineers determine the economic cost of reactive nitrogen emissions from agriculture, and their significant risks to populations through air pollution and climate ...

Melting Arctic Ice Could Transform International Shipping Routes, Study Finds

Melting ice in the Arctic Ocean could yield new trade routes in international waters, reducing the shipping industry's carbon footprint and weakening Russia's control over trade routes ...

Fifth of Global Food-Related Emissions Due to Transport

Food transport constitutes 19 percent of food emissions, equivalent to 6 percent of emissions from all sources. High-income countries are responsible for nearly half of these emissions, leading ...

Scientists Conceptualize a Species 'Stock Market' to Put a Price Tag on Actions Posing Risks to Biodiversity

Species have intrinsic value, but also provide ecosystem services of major economic value, for example, bees that pollinate our crops. However, as such values are hard to translate into figures, ...

Biogas and Biomethane Supply Chains Leak Twice as Much Methane as First Thought

A new analysis has found that biogas and biomethane, while more climate friendly, leak more than twice as much methane as previously ...

Forest to Pasture: Keeping Trees Could Reduce Climate Consequences

Researchers studied a practice known as silvopasture which intentionally preserves trees in pastures where livestock graze. They found that compared to a completely cleared, tree-less, open pasture, ...

Are New Corals in Sydney Dangerous Invaders or Harmless Refugees?

A new study has found that invading subtropical corals will survive and thrive in coastal Sydney, which could spell trouble for existing Sydney coral ...

Wildfire Smoke Exposure Negatively Impacts Dairy Cow Health

Increasing frequency and size of wildfires in the United States over the past several decades affect everything from human life and health to air quality, biodiversity, and land use. The US dairy ...

Global Warming Is Threatening the Health of People in Britain

Heatwaves are making more people in rural areas of England severely ill today than they were in the 1980s, according to new ...

Giving Metal to Microbes Could Reduce Greenhouse Gas

Collaborative research finds a lack of available metals may be responsible for more nitrous oxide than previously ...

Co-Existing Mangrove-Coral Habitats Have a New Global Classification System

By coexisting more closely with mangroves, tropical coral species may have found an alternative habitat where they can thrive in the face of climate ...

Preadolescents Exposed to High Levels of Air Pollution in Their First Years of Life Display Changes in Brain Connectivity

Higher exposure to air pollution is associated with higher functional brain connectivity among several brain regions in preadolescents, while exposure to traffic noise was not, according to a study. ...

A Warming Climate Decreases Microbial Diversity

Researchers conducted an eight-year experiment that found that climate warming played a predominant role in shaping microbial biodiversity, with significant negative ...

Study Explores Uncertainties in Flood Risk Estimates

Flood frequency analysis is a technique used to estimate flood risk, providing statistics such as the '100-year flood' or '500-year flood' that are critical to infrastructure ...

Plastic Pollution in Ocean May Harbor Novel Antibiotics

Plastic pollution in the ocean, which can support microbial communities, may serve as a source for novel antibiotics, according to a new student-led study conducted in collaboration with the Scripps ...

Ningaloo Corals Are Ill-Equipped to Handle Future Climate Change

The relatively pristine coral populations of WA's inshore Kimberley region are better equipped to survive ocean warming than the World Heritage-listed Ningaloo Marine Park, according to a new ...

Thursday, June 23, 2022
Wednesday, June 22, 2022
Tuesday, June 21, 2022
Monday, June 20, 2022
Friday, June 17, 2022
Thursday, June 16, 2022
Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Tuesday, June 14, 2022
Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Friday, June 10, 2022
Thursday, June 9, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Friday, June 3, 2022
Thursday, June 2, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Monday, May 30, 2022
Saturday, May 28, 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022
Thursday, May 26, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022
Friday, May 13, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Friday, May 6, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022