advertisement
Snow and Avalanches News
June 26, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Newly Documented Population of Polar Bears in Southeast Greenland Sheds Light on the Species' Future in a Warming Arctic

A new population of polar bears documented on the southeast coast of Greenland use glacier ice to survive despite limited access to sea ice. This ...

Antarctic Glaciers Losing Ice at Fastest Rate for 5,500 Years

New evidence suggests that two major glaciers in the West Antarctic Ice Sheet (WAIS) are losing ice at the fastest rate for at least 5,500 ...

Scientists Find New Indicators of Alaska Permafrost Thawing

More areas of year-round unfrozen ground have begun dotting Interior and Northwest Alaska and will continue to increase in extent due to climate change, according to new ...

The Consequences of Climate Change in the Alps Are Visible from Space

Global warming has a particularly pronounced impact on the Alpine region. Like the Arctic, this European mountain range is becoming greener. Researchers have now used satellite data to show that ...
Latest Headlines
updated 9:41am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Melting Land-Based Ice Raises Sea Levels Globally but Can Produce Lowered Levels Locally

When a large ice sheet begins to melt, global-mean sea level rises, but local sea level near the ice sheet may in fact drop. A researcher illustrates this effect through a series of calculations, ...

No Glacial Fertilization Effect in the Antarctic Ocean

Can iron-rich dust fertilize the ocean, stimulate algae growth there, and thereby capture carbon dioxide from the atmosphere? An international research team used deep-sea sediment cores from the ...

Climate Change Affects Landscape Freeze-Thaw but Not in the Same Way Everywhere

Researchers have use new statistical framework and analysis of datasets to demonstrate how increasing air temperatures and decreasing snow cover work in tandem to increase the effects of climate ...

Critical Benefits of Snowpack for Winter Wheat Are Diminishing

Scientists are studying the complex effects of climate change on winter crops. Warming winters may sound like a welcome change for some farmers because the change in temperature could reduce freezing ...

Melting Ice Caps May Not Shut Down Ocean Current

Most simulations of our climate's future may be overly sensitive to Arctic ice melt as a cause of abrupt changes in ocean circulation, according to new ...

Simulations Explain Greenland’s Slower Summer Warming

Climate changes in the tropical Pacific have temporarily put the brakes on rapid warming and ice melting in ...

New Link Between Greenhouse Gasses and Sea Level Rise

Researchers have used advanced ocean modelling techniques to reveal how greenhouse gas emissions contribute to warmer oceans and resulting melting of the West Antarctic Ice ...

The Global 'Plastic Flood' Reaches the Arctic

Even the High North can't escape the global threat of plastic pollution. An international review study shows, the flood of plastic has reached all spheres of the Arctic: large quantities of ...

Meltwater Drainage, Break-Away Icebergs Linked at Shrinking Helheim Glacier

Dark patches of open sea that appear in the ice-choked water around Helheim Glacier may reveal new clues about how a rapidly changing Greenland glacier loses ice, according to ...

Argon Found in Air of Ancient Atmosphere

Researchers have discovered argon trapped in air-hydrate crystals in ice cores, which can be used to reconstruct past temperature changes and climate ...

Drought Alters Mammoth Mountain’s Carbon Dioxide Emissions

A study suggests the weight of snow and ice atop the Sierra Nevada affects a California volcano's carbon dioxide emissions, one of the main signs of volcanic ...

Solar Energy Explains Fast Yearly Retreat of Antarctica's Sea Ice

Sea ice around Antarctica retreats more quickly than it advances, an asymmetry that has been a puzzle. New analysis shows that the Southern Hemisphere is following simple rules of physics, as peak ...

Rapid Glacial Advance Reconstructed During the Time of Norse Occupation in Greenland

The Greenland Ice Sheet is the second largest ice body in the world, and it has the potential to contribute significantly to global sea-level rise in a warming global climate. Understanding the ...

Snowbound: Big Trees Boost Water in Forests by Protecting Snowpack

Trees have a complex relationship with snow and energy as the season warms up, but new research shows that big trees can protect melting snowpacks in water-stressed ...

Greenland Ice Sheet May Halve in Volume by Year 3000

As a result of global warming in the 21st century, the Greenland ice sheet may contribute several meters to sea-level rise in the centuries to come; however, effective climate change mitigation ...

Past Global Photosynthesis Reacted Quickly to More Carbon in the Air

Ice cores allow climate researchers to look 800,000 years back in time: atmospheric carbon acts as fertilizer, increasing biological production. The mechanism removes carbon from the air and thereby ...

New Observations from ICESat-2 Show Remarkable Arctic Sea Ice Thinning in Just Three Years

Over the past two decades, the Arctic has lost about one-third of its winter sea ice volume, largely due to a decline in sea ice that persists over several years, called multiyear ice, according to a ...

Ice-Ocean Interactions Are Accelerating Melting in West Antarctica

An analysis of Antarctica's Pope, Smith and Kohler glaciers has revealed an aggressive pattern of retreat connected to high melt rates of floating ice in the Amundsen Sea Embayment sector of ...

Accelerating Melt Rate Makes Greenland Ice Sheet World’s Largest ‘dam’

The world's second-largest ice sheet is melting from the bottom up -- and generating huge amounts of heat from ...

The Formation of the West Antarctic Ice Sheet Was Very Different Than Previously Believed

Roughly 35 million years ago, Earth cooled rapidly. At roughly the same time, the Drake Passage formed between South America and the Antarctic, paving the way for the Antarctic Circumpolar Current. ...

Thursday, April 21, 2022
Tuesday, April 19, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Monday, April 11, 2022
Friday, April 8, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Thursday, March 31, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Tuesday, March 29, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Friday, March 25, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Monday, February 21, 2022
Tuesday, February 15, 2022
Monday, February 14, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Monday, February 7, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Monday, January 31, 2022
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Monday, January 10, 2022
Wednesday, December 22, 2021
Monday, December 20, 2021
Friday, December 17, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Wednesday, December 15, 2021
Tuesday, December 7, 2021
Monday, November 29, 2021
Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Thursday, November 18, 2021
Thursday, November 4, 2021
Wednesday, November 3, 2021
Monday, November 1, 2021
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Monday, October 18, 2021
Thursday, October 14, 2021
Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Monday, September 27, 2021
Friday, September 17, 2021
Monday, September 13, 2021
Friday, September 10, 2021
Thursday, September 9, 2021
Thursday, August 26, 2021
Tuesday, August 24, 2021
Monday, August 23, 2021
Thursday, August 19, 2021
Wednesday, August 18, 2021
Friday, August 13, 2021
Thursday, August 12, 2021
Monday, August 2, 2021
Tuesday, July 20, 2021
Monday, July 19, 2021
Monday, July 12, 2021
Thursday, July 8, 2021
Wednesday, July 7, 2021
Friday, July 2, 2021
Thursday, July 1, 2021
Monday, June 28, 2021
Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021
Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Friday, June 11, 2021
Thursday, June 10, 2021
Monday, June 7, 2021
Thursday, June 3, 2021
Wednesday, June 2, 2021
Monday, May 24, 2021
Thursday, May 20, 2021
Monday, May 17, 2021
Thursday, May 13, 2021
Wednesday, May 5, 2021