advertisement
Weather News
June 26, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Nor'easters Rivaling Hurricanes as Flood Threat to the Mid-Atlantic

While coastal flooding from tropical weather events such as hurricanes tend to get a lot of media attention, a new study found that midlatitude weather events like Nor'easters can produce flood ...

Astrophysics Student Discovers Link Between Global Warming and Locally Unstable Weather

Climate change gives rise to more unstable weather, local droughts and extreme temperature records, but a coherent theory relating local and global ...

Climate Change Likely to Reduce the Amount of Sleep That People Get Per Year

Most research looking at the impact of climate change on human life has focused on how extreme weather events affect economic and societal health ...

Scientists Hone Long-Range Forecasting of US Tornadoes, Hail

New research identifies three specific orientations of atmospheric phenomena occurring near the equator over the Maritime continent that increase the probability of severe U.S. weather events three ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:09am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

How Much Spring Nitrogen to Apply? Pre-Planting Weather May Provide a Clue

With the rising cost of nitrogen fertilizer and its impacts on air and water quality, researchers want to help farmers make more informed fertilizer rate decisions. Their latest modeling effort aims ...

Scientists Identify the Most Extreme Heatwaves Ever Recorded Globally

A new study has revealed the most intense heatwaves ever across the world -- and remarkably some of these went almost unnoticed decades ...

New Portal Improves Forecasts of Devastating Storms in West Africa

Storms in the Sahel region, which can reach over 100km in size, have become more extreme since the 1980s due to global warming, with more intense rainfall. An online portal will enable forecasters in ...

Study Develops Framework for Forecasting Contribution of Snowpack to Flood Risk During Winter Storms

A new study provides a framework for a snowpack decision support tool that could help water managers prepare for potential flooding during rain-on-snow events, using hourly data from existing snow ...

Bay Area Storms Get Wetter in a Warming World

Researchers used supercomputers to run high-resolution climate simulations that show how historically-impactful storm events could look in a warmer world. The researchers simulated five of the most ...

New Method Can Predict Summer Rainfall in the Southwest Months in Advance

As reservoir levels dwindle in the Southwest, scientists have developed a method to estimate summer rainfall in the region months in advance. These seasonal predictions can enable state and local ...

New Climate Modeling Predicts Increasing Occurrences of Flash Flooding Across Most of the U.S.

A research team has created simulations from coupled climate and hydrologic models that demonstrate widespread increases in the occurrences of flash flooding events across most of the United ...

Kauai's 2018 Record-Setting Rain Caused by a Series of Supercell Thunderstorms

A record-setting rainstorm over Kaua'i, Hawai'i in April 2018 resulted in severe flash flooding and estimated damage of nearly $180 million. The deluge damaged or destroyed 532 homes, and ...

Clearing Up Biases in Artificial Intelligence

Scientists have noticed grave disparities in artificial intelligence, noting that the methods are not objective, especially when it comes to geodiversity. AI tools, whether forecasting hail, wind or ...

Want to Be Sustainable and Cool? Choose Fans More and AC Less

A new study has found using indoor fans more often allows people to reduce their air conditioner use without changing how hot they feel, paving a way for reducing future energy use and greenhouse gas ...

Simulations Explain Greenland’s Slower Summer Warming

Climate changes in the tropical Pacific have temporarily put the brakes on rapid warming and ice melting in ...

Drenching Rains to Pose Greater Threat to Fire-Damaged Areas in West

The western United States this century is facing a greatly heightened risk of heavy rains inundating areas recently scarred by wildfires, new research warns. Such events can cause significant ...

Researchers Discover Source of Super-Fast Electron 'Rain'

Scientists have discovered a new source of super-fast, energetic electrons raining down on Earth's atmosphere, a phenomenon that contributes to the colorful aurora borealis and poses hazards to ...

Chaos Theory Provides Hints for Controlling the Weather

Researchers have used computer simulations to show that weather phenomena such as sudden downpours could potentially be modified by making small adjustments to certain variables in the weather ...

Artificial Hail for More Accurate Weather Forecasts

A vertical wind tunnel has supplied important data to facilitate the prediction of heavy rain, hail, and graupel ...

Rescued Victorian Rainfall Data Smashes Former Records

A superhuman effort by an army of volunteers during the UK's first COVID-19 lockdown has resulted in 5.2 million rainfall observations, recorded by hand on paper sheets now stored in the Met ...

Classifying Weather to Tease out How Aerosols Influence Storms

A new study used artificial intelligence to analyze 10 years of weather data collected over southeastern Texas to identify three major categories of weather patterns and the continuum of conditions ...

Ancient El Niños Reveal Limits to Future Climate Projections

The climate pattern El Niño varies to such a degree that scientists will have a hard time detecting signs that it is getting stronger with global warming. That's the conclusion of a study that ...

Precipitation Trends Determine How Often Droughts and Heat Waves Will Occur Together

Prolonged droughts and heat waves have negative consequences both for people and the environment. If both of these extreme events occur at the same time, the impacts, in the form of wild fires, tree ...

New Study Questions Explanation for Last Winter's Brutal U.S. Cold Snap

A new study challenges a commonly accepted explanation that a 'sudden stratospheric warming' caused the unusually cold weather over the U.S. early last year, a view which was widely ...

Monday, June 13, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Tuesday, May 3, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Friday, April 8, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Friday, April 1, 2022
Tuesday, March 29, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Friday, March 25, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Monday, March 7, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Friday, February 18, 2022
Thursday, February 17, 2022
Tuesday, February 15, 2022
Friday, February 11, 2022
Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Monday, February 7, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Wednesday, January 26, 2022
Monday, January 24, 2022
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Thursday, January 13, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Monday, January 10, 2022
Thursday, January 6, 2022
Wednesday, January 5, 2022
Friday, December 17, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Monday, December 13, 2021
Monday, December 6, 2021
Thursday, December 2, 2021
Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Monday, November 29, 2021
Thursday, November 18, 2021
Tuesday, November 16, 2021
Monday, November 15, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Tuesday, November 9, 2021
Monday, November 8, 2021
Friday, November 5, 2021
Monday, November 1, 2021
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
Wednesday, October 20, 2021
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Thursday, October 14, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Monday, October 11, 2021
Wednesday, October 6, 2021
Monday, October 4, 2021
Thursday, September 30, 2021
Thursday, September 23, 2021
Monday, September 20, 2021
Friday, September 17, 2021
Wednesday, September 15, 2021
Tuesday, September 14, 2021
Monday, September 13, 2021
Friday, September 10, 2021