advertisement
Archaeology News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Fossils in the 'Cradle of Humankind' May Be More Than a Million Years Older Than Previously Thought

For decades, scientists have studied these fossils of early human ancestors and their long-lost relatives. Now, a dating method developed by ...
Scientists reveal an advanced, innovative method that they have developed and used to detect nonvisual traces of fire dating back at least 800,000 years -- one of the ...

1,700-Year-Old Korean Genomes Show Genetic Heterogeneity in Three Kingdoms Period Gaya

Scientists have successfully sequenced and studied the whole genome of eight 1,700-year-old individuals dated to the Three Kingdoms period of Korea ...
A new study has unraveled the earliest evidence for domestication of a fruit tree, researchers report. The researchers analyzed remnants of charcoal from the Chalcolithic ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:11pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

The Genetic Origins of the World's First Farmers Clarified

The genetic origins of the first agriculturalists in the Neolithic period long seemed to lie in the Near East. A new study shows that the first farmers actually represented a mixture of Ice Age ...

Livestock and Dairying Led to Dramatic Social Changes in Ancient Mongolia

The movement of herders and livestock into the eastern steppe is of great interest to researchers, but few scholars have linked the introduction of herds and horses to the rise of complex ...

Ancient DNA Gives New Insights Into 'Lost' Indigenous People of Uruguay

The first whole genome sequences of the ancient people of Uruguay provide a genetic snapshot of Indigenous populations of the region before they were decimated by a series of European military ...

How the Black Rat Colonized Europe in the Roman and Medieval Periods

New ancient DNA analysis has shed light on how the black rat, blamed for spreading Black Death, dispersed across Europe -- revealing that the rodent colonized the continent on two occasions in the ...

Research Finally Answers What Bronze Age Daggers Were Used for

Analysis of Bronze Age daggers has shown that they were used for processing animal carcasses and not as non-functional symbols of identity and status, as previously thought. A revolutionary new ...

Study Reveals Stonehenge Landscape Before the World-Famous Monument

Four thousand years before Stonehenge was constructed, land within the World Heritage Site was covered by open woodland, with meadow-like clearings, inhabited by grazing animals and hunter-gatherers, ...

Before Stonehenge Monuments, Hunter-Gatherers Made Use of Open Habitats

Hunter-gatherers made use of open woodland conditions in the millennia before Stonehenge monuments were built, according to a new ...

Remote Ireland Community Survived a Millennium of Environmental Change

A remote community in Ireland was adaptable enough to persist through a millennium of environmental change, according to a new ...

Dramatic Events in Demographics Led to the Spread of Uralic Languages

Our understanding of the prehistory of the Finnish language is becoming clearer: Shifts in climate and periods of drought may have been the original reasons for which the community, which originated ...

Ancient Skeletons Reveal the History of Worm Parasites in Britain

New research reveals the scale of parasitic worm infections in Britain from the Prehistoric to the early Victorian ...

Study Challenges Theories of Earlier Human Arrival in Americas

The new analysis suggests that misinterpretation of archaeological evidence at certain sites in North and South America might be responsible for theories that humans arrived long before 13,000-14,200 ...

Prehistoric People Created Art by Firelight, New Research Reveals

Stones that were incised with artistic designs around 15,000 years ago have patterns of heat damage which suggests they were carved close to the flickering light of a fire, a new study has ...

Getting to the Root of Corn Domestication; Knowledge May Help Plant Breeders

A unique confluence of archeology, molecular genetics and serendipity guided researchers to a deeper understanding of how modern corn was domesticated from teosinte, a perennial grass native to ...

New Study Confirms Potential of Geoelectrical Methods in Search for Hidden Graves

New research is helping law enforcement agents, forensic scientists and historians uncover attempts to hide ...

First European Farmers' Heights Did Not Meet Expectations

A combined study of genetics and skeletal remains show that the switch from primarily hunting, gathering and foraging to farming about 12,000 years ago in Europe may have had negative health effects ...

How Did Visitors Experience the Domestic Space in Pompeii?

Researchers have used virtual reality and 3D eye-tracking technology to examine what drew the attention of the visitors when entering the stunning environment of an ancient Roman house. The team ...

Origins of the Avars Elucidated With Ancient DNA

Less known than Attila's Huns, the Avars were their more successful successors. They ruled much of Central and Eastern Europe for almost 250 years. We know that they came from Central Asia in ...

Researchers Use Skull CT Scans to Estimate Assigned Sex at Birth

Researchers have proposed a method of assigned sex estimation that is 'population-inclusive,' or one that did not inherently rely on any estimation of ancestry (population affinity) by ...

Smells Like Ancient Society: Scientists Find Ways to Study and Reconstruct Past Scents

In a new paper, researchers discuss the importance of scent in human history and address how and why experts might investigate smells from the ...

Rewriting the History Books: Why the Vikings Left Greenland

One of the great mysteries of late medieval history is why did the Norse, who had established successful settlements in southern Greenland in 985, abandon them in the early 15th century? The ...

Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Tuesday, May 3, 2022
Friday, April 29, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Thursday, April 7, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Friday, April 1, 2022
Tuesday, March 29, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Thursday, February 17, 2022
Friday, February 11, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Monday, February 7, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Friday, January 28, 2022
Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Monday, January 10, 2022
Tuesday, January 4, 2022
Tuesday, December 28, 2021
Monday, December 27, 2021
Wednesday, December 22, 2021
Friday, December 17, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Thursday, December 9, 2021
Wednesday, December 8, 2021
Monday, November 29, 2021
Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Monday, November 22, 2021
Friday, November 19, 2021
Monday, November 15, 2021
Saturday, November 13, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Friday, November 5, 2021
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
Monday, October 25, 2021
Wednesday, October 20, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Friday, October 8, 2021
Thursday, October 7, 2021
Wednesday, October 6, 2021
Monday, October 4, 2021
Tuesday, September 28, 2021
Friday, September 24, 2021
Thursday, September 23, 2021
Wednesday, September 22, 2021
Tuesday, September 21, 2021
Friday, September 17, 2021
Thursday, September 16, 2021
Wednesday, September 15, 2021
Tuesday, September 14, 2021
Wednesday, September 8, 2021
Tuesday, September 7, 2021
Thursday, September 2, 2021
Monday, August 30, 2021
Wednesday, August 25, 2021
Monday, August 23, 2021
Wednesday, August 18, 2021
Tuesday, August 17, 2021
Wednesday, August 4, 2021
Monday, August 2, 2021
Thursday, July 29, 2021