advertisement
Evolution News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

How Did Vertebrates First Evolve Jaws?

Scientists reveal clues about the evolutionary origin of jaws by studying the embryonic development of zebrafish -- an approach known as 'evo-devo.' Using imaging and cell tracing techniques in ...

By Odin's Beard! Tubulins Named After the Norse God May Be the Missing Link Between Single-Celled Organisms and Human Cells

The 'missing link' between bacterial cells and human and plant cells offers key to the process of eukaryogenesis, the point at which animal and plant ...

Ancient Microbes May Help Us Find Extraterrestrial Life Forms

Using light-capturing proteins in living microbes, scientists helped reconstruct what life was like for some of Earth's earliest organisms. These efforts could help us one day recognize signs of life ...

Developmental Dyslexia Essential to Human Adaptive Success

Researchers say people with developmental dyslexia have specific strengths relating to exploring the unknown that have contributed to the successful adaptation and survival of our ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:42pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Study Explores the Promises and Pitfalls of Evolutionary Genomics

A new study examines mathematical models designed to draw inferences about how evolution operates at the level of populations of organisms. The study concludes that such models must be constructed ...

New Study Deepens Understanding of How Animals See, and What Colors

Gathering vision data for hundreds of vertebrates and invertebrates, biologists have deepened scientists' understanding of animal vision, including the colors they see. The researchers ...

Breakthrough Study Examines Evolution of Snake Venom Genes

A new study provides the first comprehensive explanation of how snake venom regulatory systems evolved -- an important example that illuminates the evolution of new complex ...

What Oxytocin Can Tell Us About the Evolution of Human Prosociality

Modern humans are characterized by their prosociality, a broad term that encompasses intraspecies empathy, social tolerance, cooperation and altruism. These facets of social cognition have been ...

How Electric Fish Were Able to Evolve Electric Organs

A new study explains how small genetic changes enabled electric fish to evolve electric organs. The finding might also help scientists pinpoint the genetic mutations behind some human ...

Study Suggests That Most of Our Evolutionary Trees Could Be Wrong

New research suggests that determining evolutionary trees of organisms by comparing anatomy rather than gene sequences is misleading. The study shows that we often need to overturn centuries of ...

Using zinc isotopes, researchers investigated the diet of megalodon, the largest shark to have ever ...

'Fuel of Evolution' More Abundant Than Previously Thought in Wild Animals

The raw material for evolution is much more abundant in wild animals than we previously believed, according to new ...

Perplexing Fish-Like Fossil Finally Classified

For the first time since its discovery 130 years ago one of the most mysterious fossil vertebrates has finally been classified, increasing our possible understanding of the first animals to crawl on ...

A Family of Termites Has Been Traversing the World's Oceans for Millions of Years

A comprehensive family tree, based on DNA sequences, has revealed that drywood termites have made at least 40 oceanic journeys over the last 50 million years to reach far flung ...

First Animals Developed Complex Ecosystems Before the Cambrian Explosion

Early animals formed complex ecological communities more than 550 million years ago, setting the evolutionary stage for the Cambrian explosion, according to a new ...

Using Shark Teeth to Decipher Evolutionary Processes

From embryo to turtle cracker: Palaeobiologists studied the multiple changes in tooth shape in the tiger shark. The study is also central in drawing conclusions about extinct species from the myriad ...

The Origin of Life: A Paradigm Shift

According to a new concept, it was a novel molecular species composed out of RNA and peptides that set in motion the evolution of life into more complex ...

The Genetic Origins of the World's First Farmers Clarified

The genetic origins of the first agriculturalists in the Neolithic period long seemed to lie in the Near East. A new study shows that the first farmers actually represented a mixture of Ice Age ...

DNA Provides Unique Look at Moa and Climate Change

Ancient moa DNA has provided insights into how species react to climate change, a new study has ...

Jaws Hold Crucial Knowledge on the Fate of Sharks

A significant change in the genetics of tiger sharks reveals a vulnerability to direct exploitation and shark control ...

Squid and Octopus Genome Studies Reveal How Cephalopods' Unique Traits Evolved

Squid, octopus, and cuttlefish -- even to scientists who study them -- are wonderfully weird creatures. Known as the soft-bodied or coleoid cephalopods, they have the largest nervous system of any ...

Researchers Discover Overlooked Jurassic Park of Lizards

New research moves back the moment of the radiation of squamates -- the group of reptiles that includes lizards, snakes and worm lizards -- to the Jurassic, a long time before current ...

Dinosaur Extinction Changed Plant Evolution

The absence of large herbivores after the extinction of the dinosaurs changed the evolution of plants. The 25 million years of large herbivore absence slowed down the evolution of new plant species. ...

Study Supports Stronger Conservation Efforts Appalachians and the Gulf Coast, US

Study of Campanula americana supports strengthening conservation efforts in glacial refugia areas because of their high genetic diversity. Conservation of those areas in the southern Appalachians and ...

Monday, June 6, 2022
Thursday, June 2, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Thursday, May 26, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Tuesday, May 3, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Monday, April 11, 2022
Friday, April 8, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Monday, April 4, 2022
Thursday, March 31, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Friday, March 11, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Wednesday, March 9, 2022
Monday, March 7, 2022
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Friday, February 18, 2022
Thursday, February 17, 2022
Wednesday, February 16, 2022
Tuesday, February 15, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Monday, January 31, 2022
Friday, January 28, 2022
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Monday, January 24, 2022
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Monday, January 10, 2022
Tuesday, January 4, 2022
Monday, January 3, 2022
Monday, December 27, 2021
Thursday, December 23, 2021
Wednesday, December 22, 2021
Tuesday, December 21, 2021
Friday, December 17, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Monday, December 13, 2021
Tuesday, December 7, 2021
Monday, December 6, 2021
Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Monday, November 29, 2021
Thursday, November 18, 2021
Thursday, November 11, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Monday, November 8, 2021