advertisement
Lost Treasures News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Scientists reveal an advanced, innovative method that they have developed and used to detect nonvisual traces of fire dating back at least 800,000 years -- one of the ...
A new study has unraveled the earliest evidence for domestication of a fruit tree, researchers report. The researchers analyzed remnants of charcoal from the Chalcolithic ...
The Black Death, the biggest pandemic of our history, was caused by the bacterium Yersinia pestis and lasted in Europe between the years 1346 and 1353. Despite the pandemic's ...

Wreck of Historic Royal Ship Discovered Off the English Coast

A royal shipwreck has been discovered off the English coast. The wreck is of one of the most famous ships of the 17th century -- The Gloucester -- which sank 340 years ago while carrying the future ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:11pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Research Confirms Eastern Wyoming Paleoindian Site as Americas' Oldest Mine

The Powars II site at Sunrise in Wyoming's Platte County the oldest documented red ocher mine -- and likely the oldest known mine of any sort -- in all of North and South ...

Where Were Herod the Great's Royal Alabaster Bathtubs Quarried?

A new study allows for the first time the distinction between calcite-alabaster originating in Israel from that originating in Egypt. Furthermore, it confirms that calcite-alabaster objects, such as ...

How the Black Rat Colonized Europe in the Roman and Medieval Periods

New ancient DNA analysis has shed light on how the black rat, blamed for spreading Black Death, dispersed across Europe -- revealing that the rodent colonized the continent on two occasions in the ...

Research Finally Answers What Bronze Age Daggers Were Used for

Analysis of Bronze Age daggers has shown that they were used for processing animal carcasses and not as non-functional symbols of identity and status, as previously thought. A revolutionary new ...

Before Stonehenge Monuments, Hunter-Gatherers Made Use of Open Habitats

Hunter-gatherers made use of open woodland conditions in the millennia before Stonehenge monuments were built, according to a new ...

Friendship Ornaments from the Stone Age

Roughly 6,000 years ago, hunter-gatherer communities in northeast Europe produced skillfully manufactured slate ring ornaments in great numbers. While these ornaments are commonly referred to as ...

Study Challenges Theories of Earlier Human Arrival in Americas

The new analysis suggests that misinterpretation of archaeological evidence at certain sites in North and South America might be responsible for theories that humans arrived long before 13,000-14,200 ...

New Non-Destructive DNA Method Opens Opportunities

A new method of obtaining ancient genomic data without damaging source material has been developed, creating new opportunities for museum and archaeological collections ...

Origins of the Avars Elucidated With Ancient DNA

Less known than Attila's Huns, the Avars were their more successful successors. They ruled much of Central and Eastern Europe for almost 250 years. We know that they came from Central Asia in ...

Lost Bioscapes Window Into Polynesian Settlement Circa 12th Century

Polynesian explorers discovered a treasure trove of unique plants and animals when they arrived in the Marquesas Islands of French Polynesia, according to new ...

Smells Like Ancient Society: Scientists Find Ways to Study and Reconstruct Past Scents

In a new paper, researchers discuss the importance of scent in human history and address how and why experts might investigate smells from the ...

Study Reconsiders Name of Peru's Machu Picchu

More than 110 years after Hiram Bingham's first visit to the site, researchers reviewed Bingham's original field notes, early 20th century maps of the region, and centuries-old land ...

Genomic Analysis Supports Ancient Muwekma Ohlone Connection

A research collaboration with the Muwekma Ohlone tribe -- whose ancestral lands include the Stanford campus -- shows a genetic relationship between modern-day Tribe members and individuals buried ...

New Computer Predictive Model Useful in Identifying Ancient Hunter-Gatherer Sites

Researchers looking to identify some of the most difficult 'finds' in archaeology --including sites used by nomadic hunter-gatherer communities--are tapping technology to help in the ...

Rapid Changes to the Arctic Seafloor Noted as Submerged Permafrost Thaws

A new study has documented how the thawing of permafrost submerged underwater at the edge of the Arctic Ocean is affecting the ...

Ancient Mexican City Endured for Centuries Without Extremes in Wealth and Power

An ancient Mexican city, Monte Albán, was the biggest settlement in the region and lasted for more than a thousand years. Some hypotheses for the city's success are that people were drawn to ...

Mummification in Europe May Be Older Than Previously Known

Mummification of the dead probably was more common in prehistory than previously known. This discovery is made at the hunter-gatherer burial sites in the Sado Valley in Portugal, dating to 8,000 ...

Ancient Humans Impact African Island Environment

Unguja Ukuu, an archaeological settlement located on the Zanzibar Archipelago in Tanzania, was a key port of trade in the Indian Ocean by the first millennium when the island was populated by farming ...

7,000-Year-Old Grains Hints at Origin of Swiss Pile Dwellings

There is no other place where so many Neolithic pile dwellings have been uncovered as around the Alps. It is a mystery, however, how this 'building boom' came to be. Researchers have now ...

Stonehenge Served as an Ancient Solar Calendar

New analysis has identified how the design of Stonehenge may have represented a calendar, helping people track a solar year of 365.25 days calibrated by the alignment of the solstices. Although it ...

Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Tuesday, May 3, 2022
Friday, April 29, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Friday, April 1, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Friday, February 11, 2022
Monday, February 7, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Monday, January 31, 2022
Thursday, January 6, 2022
Monday, December 27, 2021
Wednesday, December 22, 2021
Friday, December 17, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Monday, December 13, 2021
Thursday, December 9, 2021
Tuesday, December 7, 2021
Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Monday, November 22, 2021
Friday, November 19, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Friday, October 29, 2021
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Wednesday, October 6, 2021
Tuesday, September 28, 2021
Friday, September 24, 2021
Thursday, September 23, 2021
Wednesday, September 22, 2021
Tuesday, September 21, 2021
Monday, September 20, 2021
Wednesday, September 15, 2021
Tuesday, September 7, 2021
Wednesday, August 18, 2021
Tuesday, August 17, 2021
Tuesday, August 3, 2021
Thursday, July 8, 2021
Tuesday, July 6, 2021
Wednesday, June 30, 2021
Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021
Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Thursday, June 10, 2021
Tuesday, June 8, 2021
Thursday, June 3, 2021
Wednesday, June 2, 2021
Tuesday, June 1, 2021
Monday, May 17, 2021
Wednesday, May 12, 2021
Tuesday, May 11, 2021
Wednesday, May 5, 2021
Thursday, April 29, 2021
Thursday, April 22, 2021
Thursday, April 15, 2021
Thursday, April 8, 2021
Wednesday, April 7, 2021
Monday, March 29, 2021
Wednesday, March 24, 2021
Tuesday, March 16, 2021
Friday, March 12, 2021
Thursday, March 11, 2021
Wednesday, March 10, 2021
Wednesday, March 3, 2021