advertisement
Fitness News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Researchers have identified a molecule in the blood that is produced during exercise and can effectively reduce food intake and obesity ...

Walking Towards Healthier Knees

A new study reveals that walking for exercise can reduce new frequent knee pain among people age 50 and older diagnosed with knee osteoarthritis, the most common form of arthritis. Additionally, ...
Occasionally, single-letter misspellings in the genetic code, known as point mutations, occur. Point mutations that alter ...

Antibiotics Wreak Havoc on Athletic Performance

New research demonstrates that by killing essential gut bacteria, antibiotics ravage athletes' motivation and endurance. The mouse study suggests the microbiome is a big factor separating athletes ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:00pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

75% of Teens Aren't Getting Recommended Daily Exercise

Three out of every four teens aren't getting enough exercise, and this lack is even more pronounced among female students. But new research suggests improving a school's climate can ...

30-Year Study Links Childhood Obesity and Fitness to Midlife Cognition

A new study of the impact of childhood fitness and obesity on cognition in middle age, followed over 1200 people who were children in 1985 for over 30 years, has found that better performance on ...

New Study Unravels Why COVID-19 Antibody Treatments Aren't as Effective for New Variants

A new study explores the effects of multiple mutations in the evolution of SARS-CoV-2 variants. The findings can help scientists better understand the properties of current and new variants. The ...

Computer Model Predicts Dominant SARS-CoV-2 Variants

Scientists have developed a machine learning model that can analyze millions of SARS-CoV-2 genomes and predict which viral variants will likely dominate and cause surges in COVID-19 ...

Men With Obesity Can Double Their Sperm Count

Men with obesity can double their sperm count if they lose weight and maintain the weight ...

New Research Shows No Evidence of Structural Brain Change With Short-Term Mindfulness Training

A team found flaws in previous research that purported to show meditation could alter the brain's ...

Do Compression Garments Facilitate Muscle Recovery After Exercise?

Thought to enhance muscle recovery, compression garments are commonly worn by athletes and people engaging in exercise. Yet, an international research team's systematic review provides evidence ...

Everyone Eats Three Extra Cheeseburgers a Day Than They Admit, Study Shows

Everyone eats the equivalent of three extra cheeseburgers a day than they admit -- regardless of their waistline, researchers have revealed. The study shows obese and thin people all fib about food ...

New Weight-Loss Intervention Targets Instinctive Desire to Eat

People who are highly responsive to food lost more weight and kept it off using a new weight loss program that targets internal hunger cues and the ability to resist ...

Boost in Nerve-Growth Protein Helps Explain Why Running Supports Brain Health

Exercise increases levels of a chemical involved in brain cell growth, which bolsters the release of the 'feel good' hormone dopamine, a new study shows. Dopamine is known to play a key ...

Weights Can Be Weapons in Battle Against Obesity

Despite the commonly held belief aerobic exercise is essential for weight loss, a new study has found resistance training can have equally positive results -- in conjunction with reducing calorie ...

Hormonal Changes During Menopause Are Directly Related to Decline in Cardiovascular Health

Levels of bad cholesterol rise during menopause, and 10% of this increase is likely due to shifts in sex hormones. Women usually undergo menopause at the age of 48 to 52 years, leading to a decline ...

Excessive Sports Training May Have Negative Effects on Mood

New research on road cyclists sheds light on the importance of monitoring a training session load with the use of heart rate variability measuring tools, to favor assimilation and prevent injuries, ...

Benefits of Exercise May Vary Greatly in Primary Mitochondrial Disease

Researchers demonstrated that the benefits of endurance exercise can vary based on the type of mutation involved in mitochondrial disease, and while the benefits of exercise tend to outweigh the ...

For Stroke Survivors, Modified Cardiac Rehabilitation Can Reduce the Chances of Death by 76%

Survivors of serious stroke can reduce their chances of dying within the year by 76% if they complete a modified cardiac rehabilitation program that includes medically supervised exercise, prescribed ...

Reducing Sedentary Time Mitigates the Risk of Type 2 Diabetes and Cardiovascular Diseases

A new study suggests that reducing daily sedentary time can have a positive effect on the risk factors of lifestyle diseases in only three months. Spending just one hour less sitting daily and ...

Humans Run at the Most Energy-Efficient Speed, Regardless of Distance

As race season approaches, many runners have the same goal: go faster. But researchers now show that speeding up might require defying our natural biology. By combining data from runners monitored in ...

Hype Up Fitness to Support Kids' Health Post-Lockdowns, Experts Urge

As COVID-19 reaches record levels in the UK, health experts are calling for a focus on children's physical fitness as new research reveals concerning changes to children's health and ...

New Evidence of How Exercise Can Counter Diabetes Damage

One way exercise can counter the damage of diabetes is by enabling activation of a natural system we have to grow new blood vessels when existing ones are ravaged by this ...

Controlling Blood Sugar May Improve Response to Exercise Training

Scientists sought to determine whether high blood glucose blunts the body's response to exercise and whether lowering it can restore the ability to improve aerobic capacity with training. The ...

Tuesday, June 21, 2022
Thursday, June 16, 2022
Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022
Sunday, May 15, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Tuesday, May 3, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Monday, April 11, 2022
Thursday, April 7, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Monday, April 4, 2022
Friday, April 1, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Thursday, March 24, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Friday, March 11, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Wednesday, March 9, 2022
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Friday, March 4, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Monday, February 28, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Thursday, February 17, 2022
Friday, February 11, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Wednesday, February 9, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Wednesday, January 26, 2022
Tuesday, January 25, 2022
Monday, January 24, 2022
Friday, January 21, 2022
Thursday, January 20, 2022
Thursday, January 13, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Friday, January 7, 2022
Monday, December 20, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Wednesday, December 15, 2021
Wednesday, December 8, 2021
Tuesday, December 7, 2021
Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Monday, November 29, 2021
Monday, November 22, 2021
Thursday, November 18, 2021
Wednesday, November 17, 2021
Tuesday, November 9, 2021
Tuesday, November 2, 2021
Monday, November 1, 2021
Wednesday, October 27, 2021