advertisement
Stem Cells News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Hair-Raising Research: Scientists Find Surprising Link Between Immune System, Hair Growth

Scientists have uncovered an unexpected molecular target of a common treatment for alopecia, a condition in which a person's immune system attacks ...

Biochemistry Researchers Repair and Regenerate Heart Muscle Cells

Researchers are reporting new technology that not only repairs heart muscle cells in mice but also regenerates them following a heart attack, or myocardial infarction as its medically ...

Cellular Secrets of Aging Unlocked by Researchers

Researchers have discovered how genetic mutations accumulated slowly over a lifetime lead to dramatic changes in how blood is formed after the age of 70, providing a new theory for ...

Designer Neurons Offer New Hope for Treatment of Parkinson's Disease

Scientists describe a process for converting non-neuronal cells into functioning neurons able to take up residence in the brain, send out their fibrous branches across neural tissue, form synapses, ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:00pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Researchers Discover a New Receptor Regulating Sebaceous Gland Progenitor Cell Function

Stem cells and progenitor cells play an important role in the renewal of multiple tissues. Scientists have discovered a molecule called embigin on the surface of epithelia progenitor cells and proven ...

New Perspective on RNA Function: RNA Regulates Proteins and Thereby Can Control Cell Growth, Study Shows

Scientists gained new insights into RNA-mediated regulation of proteins (riboregulation) and its role in controlling cell growth, and most importantly how undifferentiated cells (embryonic stem ...

Maintaining the Right Niche for Blood Cell Development

Researchers have identified the role of transcription factors Runx1 and Runx2 in the inhibition of fibrosis, the abnormal build-up of connective tissue with severe hematopoietic defects, in the bone ...

Great Progress Thanks to Mini Organs

Life-like organ replicas -- so-called 3D organoids -- are a good way to research disease processes. A team has now presented a kind of blueprint for such a model of the ...

Mind the Gap: Space Inside Eggs Steers First Few Steps of Life

Imagine sitting at a meeting where the shape of the table and your place at it might impact how you get along with the other members. Cells also communicate with their nearest neighbors, and in ...

Key Protein Identified for Brain Stem Cell Longevity

A receptor that was first identified as necessary for insulin action, that also is located on the neural stem cells found deep in the brains of mice, is pivotal for brain stem cell longevity, ...

Study Identifies Potential Target for Treating Childhood Blood Cancer

Scientists have pinpointed a possible new target for treating patients with the blood cancer juvenile myelomonocytic leukaemia (JMML), according to a new ...

Nothing to Cry About: The Development of Tear Duct Organoids

Researchers have developed a method for the generation of 3D lacrimal gland-like organoids, which model the characteristics of the tear duct, from human induced pluripotent stem cells. When ...

Cilia-Free Stem Cells Offer New Path to Study Rare Diseases

A group of rare diseases called ciliopathies -- polycystic kidney disease notable among them -- emerge from defects in cilia. These are the tiny hairlike structures on the surface of almost every ...

How Genome Organization Influences Cell Fate

Research shows how a protein complex, called chromatin assembly factor-1, controls genome organization to maintain lineage ...

Reprogrammed Macrophages Promote Spread of Breast Cancer

Metastatic breast cancer cells abuse macrophages, a type of immune cell, to promote the settlement of cancer metastases in the lungs. The reprogrammed macrophages stimulate blood vessel cells to ...

Learning from Endangered Zebra Stem Cells

Scientists have produced stem cells from the endangered Grévy's zebra using human reprogramming factors. Further comprehensive gene analyses identified key genes that are also found in human ...

New Factors That Can Predict Breast Cancer Recurrence Defined

Genetics and other factors that can determine if a woman is at risk for a recurrence of breast cancer have been identified, providing new research avenues for preventing a new tumor from ...

Researchers Take Important Step Towards Development of Biological Dental Enamel

To this day, cavities and damage to enamel are repaired by dentists with the help of synthetic white filling materials. There is no natural alternative to this. But a new 3D model with human dental ...

Lab Grown, Self-Sustainable Muscle Cells Repair Muscle Injury and Disease, Mouse Study Shows

In proof-of-concept experiments, scientists say they have successfully cultivated human muscle stem cells capable of renewing themselves and repairing muscle tissue damage in mice, potentially ...

Gastric Inflammation: How a Bacterial Infection Causes Tissue Changes

When the bacterium Helicobacter pylori infects the stomach, it causes gastric inflammation and increases the risk of stomach cancer. Researchers have been able to elucidate characteristic changes ...

The Origins and ID of Pancreatic Endocrine Cells

Scientists show that endocrine stem cells in the pancreas disappear after birth, and detail the genetic identity of the different types of pancreatic hormone-producing ...

Stem Cell-Based Biomaterial Can Help Regenerate Tissue Associated With Low Back Pain and Spinal Issues

Researchers developed a biomaterial using stem cells aiming to reverse a condition called intervertebral disk (IVD) degeneration, which is associated with back pain and certain spinal issues. The ...

Key Characteristics of Immune Cells in Ovarian Cancer

Researchers want to improve their understanding of the immune environment in ovarian cancer in hopes of making immunotherapy an option for these patients. Researchers now report on key ...

Comprehensive Map of Human Blood Stem Cell Development

Scientists have created a new roadmap that traces each step in the development of blood stem cells in the human embryo, providing scientists with a blueprint for producing fully functional blood stem ...

Wednesday, June 22, 2022
Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Thursday, June 9, 2022
Friday, May 13, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022
Friday, April 29, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Friday, April 22, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Tuesday, April 19, 2022
Monday, April 18, 2022
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Friday, April 1, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Tuesday, March 29, 2022
Friday, March 25, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Monday, February 21, 2022
Wednesday, February 16, 2022
Tuesday, February 15, 2022
Wednesday, February 9, 2022
Monday, February 7, 2022
Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Friday, January 28, 2022
Tuesday, January 25, 2022
Monday, January 24, 2022
Thursday, January 20, 2022
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Friday, January 14, 2022
Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Thursday, December 30, 2021
Thursday, December 23, 2021
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Monday, December 13, 2021
Thursday, December 9, 2021
Wednesday, December 8, 2021
Tuesday, December 7, 2021
Thursday, December 2, 2021
Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Friday, November 19, 2021
Thursday, November 18, 2021
Tuesday, November 16, 2021
Saturday, November 13, 2021
Thursday, November 11, 2021
Monday, November 8, 2021
Thursday, October 28, 2021
Thursday, October 21, 2021
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Monday, October 18, 2021
Friday, October 15, 2021
Thursday, October 14, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Friday, October 8, 2021
Saturday, October 2, 2021
Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Tuesday, September 28, 2021
Tuesday, September 21, 2021
Thursday, September 16, 2021
Tuesday, September 14, 2021
Monday, September 13, 2021
Thursday, September 9, 2021
Tuesday, September 7, 2021
Friday, September 3, 2021
Thursday, September 2, 2021
Wednesday, September 1, 2021
Tuesday, August 31, 2021
Thursday, August 26, 2021
Thursday, August 19, 2021
Wednesday, August 11, 2021
Thursday, August 5, 2021
Tuesday, August 3, 2021
Wednesday, July 21, 2021