advertisement
Fossil Fuels News
June 26, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Earth-Abundant Solar Pixels Found to Produce Hydrogen for Weeks

Devices made of readily available oxide and carbon-based materials can produce clean hydrogen from water over weeks -- according to new research. The findings could help overcome one of the key ...

Hydrogen Production Method Opens Up Clean Energy Possibilities

A new energy-efficient way to produce hydrogen gas from ethanol and water has the potential to make clean hydrogen fuel a more viable alternative for gasoline to power ...

Scavenger Nanoparticles Could Make Fuel Cell-Powered Vehicles a Reality

Engineers have developed a material that could give fuel cell systems a competitive edge over the battery systems that currently power most electric ...

Could We Make Cars out of Petroleum Residue?

Researchers have developed a way to make lightweight fibers, for possible use in the bodies of cars, out of an ultracheap feedstock: the waste material from the refining of ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:35am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

What Is Causing the Rise in Black Lung Disease?

Silica exposure is a driving force behind rising rates of coal workers' pneumoconiosis, according to a new study that compared the pathology and mineralogy of the disease across generations. The ...

New Method Purifies Hydrogen from Heavy Carbon Monoxide Mixtures

Refining metals, manufacturing fertilizers and powering fuel cells for heavy vehicles are all processes that require purified hydrogen. But purifying, or separating, that hydrogen from a mix of other ...

From the Streets to the Stratosphere: Clean Driving Technology Enables Cleaner Rocket Fuel

A chemical used in electric vehicle batteries could also give us carbon-free fuel for space flight, according to new ...

A 'Fairly Simple' Breakthrough Makes Accessing Stored Hydrogen More Efficient

A new catalyst extracts hydrogen from hydrogen storage materials easily and efficiently. The process occurs at mild temperatures and under normal atmospheric conditions, without using metals or ...

Fueling a Hydrogen Revolution

Researchers show how magnetic flux sensors can be used to monitor the operation of proton exchange membrane fuel cells that run on hydrogen. By detecting changes in current, failure states due to ...

JET Fusion Facility Sets a New World Energy Record

European scientists have achieved a major success on the road to energy production through fusion plasmas: They produced stable plasmas with 59 megajoules of energy output at the world's largest ...

Massive Methane Emissions by Oil and Gas Industry Detected from Space

For the first time ever on a global scale, using satellite imagery, scientists have quantified volumes of massive methane emissions due to fossil-fuel extraction activities and their impact on the ...

Fuel Cells and Game-Changing Tech to Remove 99% of Carbon Dioxide from Air

Engineers have demonstrated a way to effectively capture 99% of carbon dioxide from air using a novel electrochemical system powered by ...

New Polymer Fuel Cells Can Operate at Higher Temperatures

A new high-temperature polymer fuel cell that operates at 80-160 degrees Celsius, with a higher-rated power density than state-of-the-art fuel cells, solves the longstanding problem of overheating, ...

How Fuel Poverty 'Gets Under the Skin'

New research shows that fuel poverty makes people's physical and mental health worse. Researchers found that not being able to keep homes warm enough affects people's levels of life ...

Scientists Observe Record High Hydride Ion Conductivity Using Modified Lanthanum Trihydride

Lanthanum trihydride, a compound of lanthanum and hydrogen, when lightly doped with oxygen shows potential as an efficient hydrogen carrier, according to a new study. Hydride ion (H--) conductors are ...

Growing Carbon Footprint for Plastics

After analyzing the global plastics supply chain, researchers found that the impact of plastics on the climate and health is greater than thought due to the increased use of coal for process heat, ...

Research Pushes Auto Industry Closer to Clean Cars Powered by Direct Ethanol Fuel Cells

Alternative-energy research is charting a path toward the mass adoption of clean cars powered by direct-ethanol fuel ...

Microbes Can Provide Sustainable Hydrocarbons for the Petrochemical Industry

The petrochemical industry turns oil and gas into precursors used to synthesize lubricants and other critical products. Chemists show that bacteria can be metabolically engineered to generate similar ...

Free Green Services Could Substantially Reduce Emissions

Using carbon tax revenue to fund free green electricity and public transport could significantly reduce individual households' greenhouse gas emissions, a new study has found.  Providing these ...

Finding the Missing Piece in Global Oil Life-Cycle Assessment

New research offers a closer look at the relationship between decreasing demand for oil and a resilient, varied oil market -- and the carbon footprint associated with ...

Coal Creation Mechanism Uncovered

The mechanism behind one of the first stages of coal creation may not be what we thought it was, according to a team of researchers who found that microbes were responsible for coal formation and ...

Needle Free Glucose Monitoring a Step Closer for Diabetics

A needle-free technology that would allow people with diabetes to measure blood sugar levels without having to stick a needle into their fingertips is a step closer to ...

Making Aircraft Fuel from Sunlight and Air

Scientists have built a plant that can produce carbon-neutral liquid fuels from sunlight and air. The next goal will be to take this technology to industrial scale and achieve competitiveness. ...

Turning Plastic Grocery Bags Into Sustainable Fuel

Researchers report using catalytic pyrolysis to turn plastic wastes into a valuable fuel source. They focused on recycling plastic and upgrading plastic into other products or converting it to a ...

Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Tuesday, January 25, 2022
Thursday, December 2, 2021
Monday, November 29, 2021
Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Tuesday, November 16, 2021
Thursday, November 11, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Thursday, November 4, 2021
Wednesday, November 3, 2021
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Friday, October 22, 2021
Thursday, October 14, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Wednesday, October 6, 2021
Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Friday, September 24, 2021
Wednesday, September 22, 2021
Thursday, September 16, 2021
Thursday, September 9, 2021
Wednesday, September 8, 2021
Monday, August 30, 2021
Thursday, August 19, 2021
Wednesday, August 18, 2021
Thursday, August 12, 2021
Monday, August 2, 2021
Thursday, July 29, 2021
Monday, July 19, 2021
Wednesday, July 7, 2021
Tuesday, June 29, 2021
Friday, June 25, 2021
Thursday, June 24, 2021
Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Tuesday, June 15, 2021
Monday, June 14, 2021
Tuesday, June 8, 2021
Thursday, May 27, 2021
Friday, May 21, 2021
Tuesday, May 18, 2021
Monday, May 17, 2021
Thursday, May 6, 2021
Thursday, March 25, 2021
Wednesday, March 24, 2021
Monday, March 22, 2021
Wednesday, March 17, 2021
Tuesday, March 16, 2021
Wednesday, March 10, 2021
Monday, March 8, 2021
Monday, March 1, 2021
Tuesday, February 23, 2021
Friday, February 19, 2021
Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Tuesday, February 2, 2021
Wednesday, January 27, 2021
Monday, January 25, 2021
Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Friday, January 15, 2021
Thursday, January 14, 2021
Wednesday, January 13, 2021
Tuesday, January 12, 2021
Wednesday, January 6, 2021
Tuesday, December 22, 2020
Thursday, December 17, 2020
Wednesday, December 16, 2020
Tuesday, December 15, 2020
Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Tuesday, December 8, 2020
Saturday, December 5, 2020
Thursday, December 3, 2020
Tuesday, December 1, 2020
Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Tuesday, October 20, 2020