advertisement
Inorganic Chemistry News
June 26, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Self-Assembled, Interlocked Threads: Spinning Yarn With No Machine Needed

Researchers unexpectedly discovered that the ability for spirals to form in nature also happens in some non-biological systems that convert chemical energy into mechanical action -- allowing ...

Scientists Decontaminate Heavy Metal Water Using Protein from Plant Waste

Scientists have created a membrane made from a waste by-product of vegetable oil manufacturing, which can filter out heavy metals from contaminated water. In tests, they showed that this process of ...

Custom Suits for Worms That Really Deliver

Researchers have found that nematodes can be coated with a protective hydrogel sheath that can be engineered to carry functional cargo. This system could potentially be developed to deliver ...

Topological Superconductors: Fertile Ground for Elusive Majorana ('angel') Particle

A new review investigates the search of Majorana fermions in iron-based superconductors. The elusive Majorana fermion, or 'angel particle' ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:05am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

New Material Paves the Way for Remote-Controlled Medication and Electronic Pills

Biomedicines are produced by living cells and are used to treat cancer and autoimmune diseases among other things. One challenge is that the medicines are very expensive to produce, something that ...

A Biological Super Glue from Mistletoe Berries?

Researchers suggests that mistletoe viscin's ultra-stiff flexible fibers, which adhere to both skin and cartilage as well as to various synthetic materials, could have a range of applications -- ...

Real-Time Imaging of Dynamic Atom-Atom Interactions

Researchers have managed to observe and characterize dynamic assembly of metallic atoms using an ingenious combination of scanning transmission electron microscopy and a video-based tracking. By ...

Controlled Fabrication of Multimetallic Building Blocks for Hybrid Nanomaterials

Polymers with different metal complexes in their side chains are thought to be promising high-performance materials with a wide variety of applications. However, conventional fabrication methods are ...

Catalyst from Hot Water

The production of chemical substances normally requires environmentally harmful solvents. After researchers had produced organic substances without harmful substances by heating them in hot water, ...

Closed-Loop Additive Manufacturing Fueled by Upcycled Plastic

Researchers have developed an upcycling approach that adds value to discarded plastics for reuse in additive manufacturing, or 3D printing. The readily adoptable, scalable method introduces a ...

Designing Protection Suits for Hard Working Bacteria

Bacteria can contribute to a more sustainable production of chemicals, so providing a good working environment for them is a good investment. Now researchers present a nano protection suit, developed ...

Researchers Solve Mystery Surrounding Dielectric Properties of Unique Metal Oxide

A research team has solved a longstanding mystery surrounding strontium titanate, a metal oxide semiconductor, providing insight for future research on the material and its applications to electronic ...

Oxide Growth in Additively Manufactured Metals Examined in sCO2 Environment

A new study examines the differences in oxide film growth on additively manufactured (AM) metals and wrought stainless steel in a supercritical carbon dioxide (sCO2) ...

Photosynthesis-Inspired Process Makes Commodity Chemicals

A team used light and water to convert acetylene into ethylene, a widely used, highly valuable chemical that is a key ingredient in plastics. While this conversion typically requires high ...

Scientists Observe Effects of Heat in Materials With Atomic Resolution

Using cutting-edge electron microscopes and novel techniques, a team of researchers has found a way to map phonons -- vibrations in crystal lattices -- in atomic resolution, enabling deeper ...

New Delivery Method Allows Slow-Release of Broader Array of Peptide Drugs in the Body

A new study describes one of the first entirely new drug delivery microencapsulation approaches in ...

Lithium-Ion Batteries That Last Longer in Extreme Cold

When temperatures fall below freezing, cellphones need to be recharged frequently, and electric cars have shorter driving ranges. This is because their lithium-ion batteries' anodes get ...

Yolk-Shell Nanocrystals With Movable Gold Yolk: Next Generation of Photocatalysts

Owing to their unique permeable, hollow shell structures with inner, movable cores, yolk-shell nanocrystals are suitable for a wide variety of applications. Yolk-shell nanocrystals consisting of a ...

Creating mRNA With an All-Chemical Process May Allow for Customized mRNA Vaccines

A new synthesis method offers hope for creation of advance mRNA vaccines to fight viruses and even ...

Detecting New Particles Around Black Holes With Gravitational Waves

Clouds of ultralight particles can form around rotating black holes. A team of physicists now show that these clouds would leave a characteristic imprint on the gravitational waves emitted by binary ...

All Wound Up: A Reversible Molecular Whirligig

Over the last few decades, researchers have built minuscule molecular machines that rotate or shuttle other molecules. However, it's difficult to determine the mechanical work and forces that ...

Textile Filter Testing Shows Promise for Carbon Capture

Researchers found they could filter carbon dioxide from air and gas mixtures at promising rates using a proposed new textile-based filter that combines cotton fabric and an enzyme called carbonic ...

Chemists Design Chemical Probe for Detecting Minute Temperature Shifts in the Body

A chemistry team has engineered a cobalt complex to act as a noninvasive chemical thermometer. They've done so by making the cobalt complex's nuclear spin ­-- a workhorse, fundamental ...

Glass: Anomalous Properties of Amorphous Solids

Researchers explain the distinctive low-temperature thermal properties of glasses using molecular dynamics simulations. By focusing on string-like defects, they were able to create a unified ...

Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Tuesday, June 14, 2022
Monday, June 13, 2022
Thursday, June 9, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Friday, June 3, 2022
Thursday, June 2, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022
Thursday, May 26, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Saturday, May 21, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022
Friday, May 13, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Sunday, May 8, 2022
Friday, May 6, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Tuesday, May 3, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Friday, April 22, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022