advertisement
Nanotechnology News
June 26, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Lipid Nanoparticles Carry Gene-Editing Cancer Drugs Past Tumor Defenses

As they grow, solid tumors surround themselves with a thick, hard-to-penetrate wall of molecular defenses. Getting drugs past that barricade is notoriously difficult. Now, scientists have developed ...

Tiny Fish-Shaped Robot 'Swims' Around Picking Up Microplastics

Microplastics are found nearly everywhere on Earth and can be harmful to animals if they're ingested. But it's hard to remove such tiny particles from the environment, especially once they settle ...

Scientists Decontaminate Heavy Metal Water Using Protein from Plant Waste

Scientists have created a membrane made from a waste by-product of vegetable oil manufacturing, which can filter out heavy metals from contaminated water. In tests, they showed that this process of ...

Robotic Lightning Bugs Take Flight

Inspired by fireflies, researchers created soft actuators that can emit light in different colors or patterns. These artificial muscles, which control the wings of featherweight flying robots, light ...
Latest Headlines
updated 9:06am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

All-Optical Switching on a Nanometer Scale

Ultrafast light-driven control of magnetization on the nanometer length scale is key to achieve competitive bit sizes in next generation data storage technology. Researchers have successfully ...

Scientists Create Nanoparticle That Helps Fight Solid Tumors

Researchers have discovered a possible new approach in treating solid tumors through the creation of a novel ...

Scientists Observe Effects of Heat in Materials With Atomic Resolution

Using cutting-edge electron microscopes and novel techniques, a team of researchers has found a way to map phonons -- vibrations in crystal lattices -- in atomic resolution, enabling deeper ...

Sponge-Like Solar Cells Could Be Basis for Better Pacemakers

Scientists find that holes can also improve technology, including medical devices. The article describes an entirely new way to make a solar cell: by etching holes in the top layer to make it ...

Yolk-Shell Nanocrystals With Movable Gold Yolk: Next Generation of Photocatalysts

Owing to their unique permeable, hollow shell structures with inner, movable cores, yolk-shell nanocrystals are suitable for a wide variety of applications. Yolk-shell nanocrystals consisting of a ...

Nano-Sensor Detects Pesticides on Fruit in Minutes

Researchers have developed a tiny sensor for detecting pesticides on fruit in just a few minutes. The technique uses flame-sprayed nanoparticles made from silver to increase the signal of chemicals. ...

All Wound Up: A Reversible Molecular Whirligig

Over the last few decades, researchers have built minuscule molecular machines that rotate or shuttle other molecules. However, it's difficult to determine the mechanical work and forces that ...

A Novel All-Optical Switching Method Makes Optical Computing and Communication Systems More Power-Efficient

Photonics researchers have introduced a novel method to control a light beam with another beam through a unique plasmonic metasurface in a linear medium at ultra-low power. This simple linear ...

New Nanoparticles Aid Sepsis Treatment in Mice

Sepsis, the body's overreaction to an infection, affects more than 1.5 million people and kills at least 270,000 every year in the U.S. alone. The standard treatment of antibiotics and fluids is ...

Nanostructured Fibers Can Impersonate Human Muscles

Researchers have created a new type of fiber that can perform like a muscle actuator, in many ways better than other options that exist today. And, most importantly, these muscle-like fibers are ...

Novel Method for Early Disease Detection Using DNA Droplets

Droplet systems such as DNA droplets, which are formed by liquid-liquid phase separation of macromolecules, play an essential role in cellular functions. Now, by combining the technologies of DNA ...

'Fruitcake' Structure Observed in Organic Polymers

Researchers have analysed the properties of an organic polymer with potential applications in flexible electronics and uncovered variations in hardness at the ...

New Light Shed on Cell Membranes

Researchers are using light in novel ways to better image biological ...

Artificial Cilia Could Someday Power Diagnostic Devices

Researchers have now designed a micro-sized artificial cilial system using platinum-based components that can control the movement of fluids at such a scale. The technology could someday enable ...

Secret to Treating 'Achilles' Heel' of Alternatives to Silicon Solar Panels Revealed

A team of researchers has found that the tiny defects which limit the efficiency of perovskites -- cheaper alternative materials for solar cells -- are also responsible for structural changes in the ...

Diamond Mirrors for High-Powered Lasers

Researchers have built a mirror out of one of the strongest materials on the planet: diamond. By etching nanostructures onto the surface of a thin sheet of diamond, the research team built a highly ...

Researchers Unveil a Secret of Stronger Metals

Researchers determined exactly what happens as crystal grains in metals form during an extreme deformation process, at the tiniest scales, down to a few nanometers across. The findings could lead to ...

Neuromorphic Memory Device Simulates Neurons and Synapses

Researchers have reported a nano-sized neuromorphic memory device that emulates neurons and synapses simultaneously in a unit cell, another step toward completing the goal of neuromorphic computing ...

Möbius Band Constructed Solely by Carbon Atoms

A team has synthesized a belt-shaped molecular nanocarbon with a twisted Möbius band topology, i.e., a Möbius carbon ...

Researchers Magnify Hidden Biological Structures With MAGNIFIERS

A research team has combined two emerging imaging technologies to better view a wide range of biomolecules, including proteins, lipids and DNA, at the nanoscale. Their technique brings together ...

Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Tuesday, June 14, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Friday, June 3, 2022
Thursday, June 2, 2022
Thursday, May 26, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Friday, May 6, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Friday, April 22, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Tuesday, April 19, 2022
Monday, April 18, 2022
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Monday, April 11, 2022
Thursday, April 7, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Thursday, March 31, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Tuesday, March 29, 2022
Friday, March 25, 2022
Thursday, March 24, 2022
Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022