advertisement
Physics News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Topological Superconductors: Fertile Ground for Elusive Majorana ('angel') Particle

A new review investigates the search of Majorana fermions in iron-based superconductors. The elusive Majorana fermion, or 'angel particle' ...

Experiment Results Confirm Anomaly Suggesting New Physics Possibility

New scientific results confirm an anomaly seen in previous experiments, which may point to an as-yet-unconfirmed new elementary particle, the sterile neutrino, or indicate the need for a new ...

Quantum Simulator Delivers New Insight

A quantum simulator is giving physicists a clear look at spin-charge separation, a bizarre phenomenon in which two parts of indivisible particles called electrons travel at different speeds in ...

Researchers Model Accelerator Magnets' History Using Machine Learning Approach

After a long day of work, you might feel tired or exhilarated. Either way, you are affected by what happened to you in the past. Accelerator magnets ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:06pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Let Machines Do the Work: Automating Semiconductor Research With Machine Learning

The development of new thin semiconductor materials requires a quantitative analysis of a large amount of reflection high-energy electron diffraction (RHEED) data, which is time consuming and ...

Quantum Computer Programming Basics

For would-be quantum programmers scratching their heads over how to jump into the game as quantum computers proliferate and become publicly accessible, a new beginner's guide provides a thorough ...

Real-Time Imaging of Dynamic Atom-Atom Interactions

Researchers have managed to observe and characterize dynamic assembly of metallic atoms using an ingenious combination of scanning transmission electron microscopy and a video-based tracking. By ...

Magnetic Material Could Help Monitor Battery Life

A new study shows how a magnetic material can be used to help monitor the amount of life left in a rechargeable battery before it needs to be ...

Calculating the 'Fingerprints' of Molecules With Artificial Intelligence

With conventional methods, it is extremely time-consuming to calculate the spectral fingerprint of larger molecules. But this is a prerequisite for correctly interpreting experimentally obtained ...

New, Highly Tunable Composite Materials--With a Twist

Mathematicians have found that they can design a range of composite materials from moiré patterns created by rotating and stretching one lattice relative to another. Their electrical and other ...

Controlled Fabrication of Multimetallic Building Blocks for Hybrid Nanomaterials

Polymers with different metal complexes in their side chains are thought to be promising high-performance materials with a wide variety of applications. However, conventional fabrication methods are ...

Can They Make Graphite from Coal? Researchers Start by Finding New Carbon Solid

As the world's appetite for carbon-based materials like graphite increases, researchers presented evidence this week for a new carbon solid they named 'amorphous ...

New Feedback System Can Improve Efficiency of Fusion Reactions

Scientists have refined the use of magnetic fields to improve the performance of doughnut-shaped fusion facilities known as tokamaks. The improved technique protects internal parts from damage by ...

Investigating Electrons With a Traditional Scanning Microscope

Physicists have designed a framework that allows scientists to observe interactions between light and electrons using a traditional scanning electron microscope. The procedure is considerably cheaper ...

Paving the Way for Faster Computers, Longer-Lasting Batteries

Scientists have finally cracked a problem that's frustrated chemists and physicists for years, potentially leading to a new age of powerful, efficient, and environmentally friendly ...

Scientists Observe Effects of Heat in Materials With Atomic Resolution

Using cutting-edge electron microscopes and novel techniques, a team of researchers has found a way to map phonons -- vibrations in crystal lattices -- in atomic resolution, enabling deeper ...

Researchers Design New Emulator That Reveals the Intricacies of Light Behavior in Complex Evolving Systems

The work could spur the development of novel mechanisms for light manipulation and promises profound implications for technologies such as miniaturized and robust lasers, optical computers, and ...

Breakthrough Paves Way for Photonic Sensing at the Ultimate Quantum Limit

A team of physicists has found a way to operate mass manufacturable photonic sensors at the quantum limit. This breakthrough paves the way for practical applications such as monitoring greenhouse ...

A Quantum Drum That Stores Quantum States for Record-Long Times

Researchers have improved the coherence time of a previously developed quantum membrane dramatically. The improvement will expand the usability of the membrane for a variety of different purposes. ...

Detecting New Particles Around Black Holes With Gravitational Waves

Clouds of ultralight particles can form around rotating black holes. A team of physicists now show that these clouds would leave a characteristic imprint on the gravitational waves emitted by binary ...

A Novel All-Optical Switching Method Makes Optical Computing and Communication Systems More Power-Efficient

Photonics researchers have introduced a novel method to control a light beam with another beam through a unique plasmonic metasurface in a linear medium at ultra-low power. This simple linear ...

Bumps Could Smooth Quantum Investigations

Materials theorists model a contoured surface overlaid with 2D materials and find it possible to control their electronic and magnetic properties. The discovery could simplify research into many-body ...

Chemists Design Chemical Probe for Detecting Minute Temperature Shifts in the Body

A chemistry team has engineered a cobalt complex to act as a noninvasive chemical thermometer. They've done so by making the cobalt complex's nuclear spin ­-- a workhorse, fundamental ...

Grain Boundaries Go With the Flow

Engineers mimic atom-scale grain boundaries with magnetic particles to see how shear stress influences their ...

Thursday, June 16, 2022
Tuesday, June 14, 2022
Friday, June 10, 2022
Thursday, June 9, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Friday, June 3, 2022
Thursday, June 2, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Monday, May 30, 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022
Thursday, May 26, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Saturday, May 21, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022
Friday, May 13, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Sunday, May 8, 2022
Friday, May 6, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022
Friday, April 29, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Friday, April 22, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022