advertisement
Quantum Physics News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Topological Superconductors: Fertile Ground for Elusive Majorana ('angel') Particle

A new review investigates the search of Majorana fermions in iron-based superconductors. The elusive Majorana fermion, or 'angel particle' ...

Experiment Results Confirm Anomaly Suggesting New Physics Possibility

New scientific results confirm an anomaly seen in previous experiments, which may point to an as-yet-unconfirmed new elementary particle, the sterile neutrino, or indicate the need for a new ...

Quantum Simulator Delivers New Insight

A quantum simulator is giving physicists a clear look at spin-charge separation, a bizarre phenomenon in which two parts of indivisible particles called electrons travel at different speeds in ...

Quantum Computer Programming Basics

For would-be quantum programmers scratching their heads over how to jump into the game as quantum computers proliferate and become publicly accessible, a new beginner's guide provides a thorough ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:36pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Breakthrough Paves Way for Photonic Sensing at the Ultimate Quantum Limit

A team of physicists has found a way to operate mass manufacturable photonic sensors at the quantum limit. This breakthrough paves the way for practical applications such as monitoring greenhouse ...

A Quantum Drum That Stores Quantum States for Record-Long Times

Researchers have improved the coherence time of a previously developed quantum membrane dramatically. The improvement will expand the usability of the membrane for a variety of different purposes. ...

Detecting New Particles Around Black Holes With Gravitational Waves

Clouds of ultralight particles can form around rotating black holes. A team of physicists now show that these clouds would leave a characteristic imprint on the gravitational waves emitted by binary ...

Bumps Could Smooth Quantum Investigations

Materials theorists model a contoured surface overlaid with 2D materials and find it possible to control their electronic and magnetic properties. The discovery could simplify research into many-body ...

Chemists Design Chemical Probe for Detecting Minute Temperature Shifts in the Body

A chemistry team has engineered a cobalt complex to act as a noninvasive chemical thermometer. They've done so by making the cobalt complex's nuclear spin ­-- a workhorse, fundamental ...

An Atomic-Scale Window Into Superconductivity Paves the Way for New Quantum Materials

Superconductors are materials with no electrical resistance whatsoever, commonly requiring extremely low temperatures. They are used in a wide range of domains, from medical applications to a central ...

Controlling the Waveform of Ultrashort Infrared Pulses

An international team of laser physicists has achieved unprecedented control over light pulses in the mid-infrared wavelength ...

Time Crystals 'Impossible' but Obey Quantum Physics

Scientists have created a 'time-crystal' a two-body system in an experiment that seems to bend the laws of physics. A 'two-level system' is a basic building block of a quantum ...

Physicists Announce First Results from The Daya Bay Neutrino Experiment's Final Dataset

Over nearly nine years, the Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Experiment captured an unprecedented five and a half million interactions from subatomic particles called neutrinos. Now, the international team ...

How Structural Changes Affect the Superconducting Properties of a Metal Oxide

Researchers have discovered how subtle structural changes in strontium titanate, a metal oxide semiconductor, can alter the material's electrical resistance and affect its superconducting ...

A New Arrangement: Using Quantum Dots to Quench the Smallest Ferrimagnetism

A team of scientists have focused on the Kondo effect on minimal ferrimagnetism and attempted to elucidate it theoretically. As a result, they found that the Kondo effect occurred via multiple ...

Revisiting the History of CPT Theorem

A new review looks at an important and often overlooked aspect of physics that suggested symmetry in the particle zoo and how it could be ...

Researchers Hunt for One-Pole Magnets by Combining Cosmic Rays and Particle Accelerators

Particle accelerators have helped researcher to draw new leading limits on the existence of magnetic monopoles from the collisions of energetic cosmic rays bombarding the Earth's ...

Physicist Uses Intuition, Supercomputers to Identify New High-Temperature Superconductor

In 2021, scientists discovered a new form of superconducting nickelate using computational methods. The discovery lets researchers explore similarities and differences between nickelates and cuprates ...

Researchers Teleport Quantum Information Across Rudimentary Quantum Network

Researchers have succeeded in teleporting quantum information across a rudimentary network. This first of its kind is an important step towards a future quantum Internet. This breakthrough was made ...

Toward Error-Free Quantum Computing

For quantum computers to be useful in practice, errors must be detected and corrected. A team of experimental physicists has now implemented a universal set of computational operations on ...

Secure Communication With Light Particles

While quantum computers offer many novel possibilities, they also pose a threat to internet security since these supercomputers make common encryption methods vulnerable. Based on the so-called ...

Researchers Create Highest Efficiency 1-Sun Solar Cell

Researchers have created a solar cell with a record 39.5 percent efficiency under 1-sun global illumination. This is believed to be the highest efficiency solar cell of any type, measured using ...

Emulating Impossible 'Unipolar' Laser Pulses Paves the Way for Processing Quantum Information

A laser pulse that sidesteps the inherent symmetry of light waves could manipulate quantum information, potentially bringing us closer to room temperature quantum ...

Scientists Use Quantum Computers to Simulate Quantum Materials

Researchers have used quantum computers to simulate spin defects, an important material property for the next generation of quantum ...

Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Friday, June 3, 2022
Thursday, June 2, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022
Thursday, May 26, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Friday, May 13, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Friday, May 6, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Friday, April 29, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Friday, April 22, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Tuesday, April 19, 2022
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Friday, April 8, 2022
Thursday, April 7, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Monday, April 4, 2022
Thursday, March 31, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Friday, March 25, 2022
Thursday, March 24, 2022
Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Friday, March 11, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Wednesday, March 9, 2022
Monday, March 7, 2022
Friday, March 4, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022