advertisement
Addiction News
June 26, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Dopamine Makes You Feel Happy, but We Probably Still Have to Rewrite the Textbooks

Researchers have discovered a new piece in the puzzle of the brain's 'feel good' substance, dopamine. According to one of the researchers behind the ...

New Research Helps Explain How Ritalin Sharpens Attention

Researchers found animals that had taken methylphenidate performed better on a visual task of attention, and that the improvement happened exactly when that same metric of neuron activity ...

Drug Use Severity in Adolescence Affects Substance Use Disorder Risk in Adulthood

People who reported multiple symptoms consistent with severe substance use disorder at age 18 exhibited two or more of these symptoms in adulthood, ...

Monkeys Routinely Consume Fruit Containing Alcohol, Shedding Light on Our Own Taste for Booze

Scientists analyzed the ethanol content of fruit eaten by spider monkeys in Panama, and found that the fruit regularly contained alcohol: between 1% ...
Latest Headlines
updated 9:33am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

No Peers, No Beers: Research Shows Youth Substance Use Declined During the COVID-19 Pandemic

With stay-at-home orders during the COVID-19 pandemic, youth spent more time at home with family and were more isolated from in-person interaction with peers. Largely due to this social isolation ...

Staring at Yourself During Virtual Chats May Worsen Your Mood

A new study finds that the more a person stares at themself while talking with a partner in an online chat, the more their mood degrades over the course of the conversation. Alcohol use appears to ...

Researchers Identify a Brain Circuit for Addiction Remission

In the United States, substance use disorders are a leading cause of death among young people. Treatments such as deep brain stimulation hold promise for helping people overcome addiction, but many ...

Heavy Drinkers Four Times More Likely to Smoke in England, Study Finds

Those who are among the heaviest drinkers in England are four times more likely to smoke than the general population and should be prioritized by the government in its plans to achieve ...

Pregnant Women's Drinking Correlates With Their Partner's Drinking

Pregnant women's use of alcohol correlates with that of their partner, a new study shows. Paying attention to both parents' use of alcohol may help to prevent drinking during pregnancy, as ...

Removing Barriers to Opioid Use Disorder Treatment Shows Success During Pandemic

Pandemic-era changes to prescribing guidelines for the lifesaving drug buprenorphine led to improved treatment outcomes for patients with opioid use disorder in Philadelphia, according to a recently ...

Molecular 'Connector' Helps Cocaine Latch on to Brain Cells, Even When Drug Is in Low Doses

Scientists have long known that cocaine works by latching on to molecular connectors on the surface of brain cells, allowing dopamine, a chemical that promotes feelings of pleasure and reward, to ...

Nearly 108,000 Overdose Deaths in US in 2021

A grim prediction made half a decade ago by epidemiologists and modelers has come true: More than 100,000 people are now dying from drug overdoses annually in the ...

Major Uptick Reported in Cannabis Vaping for All Adolescents

Cannabis vaping is increasing as the most popular method of cannabis delivery among all adolescents in the U.S., as is the frequency of cannabis vaping, according to ...

Four-Year College Students Drink More, Use Marijuana Less Than Community College Peers, Study Finds

Students at four-year colleges and universities drink nearly twice as much alcohol as their peers in two-year colleges, according to a survey of college students in the Seattle area. On the other ...

Deaths from Alcohol Use Disorder Surged During Pandemic, Study Finds

Deaths involving alcohol use disorder increased dramatically during the pandemic, according to a new study. The study also found that young adults 25 to 44 years old experienced the steepest upward ...

Study Finds Increased Risk of Dementia After Hospitalization for Major TBI

People who have been hospitalized for a major traumatic brain injury (TBI) may have a higher risk of developing dementia when compared to people who do not have a TBI, according to a new study. Major ...

A 'Factory Reset' for the Brain May Cure Anxiety, Drinking Behavior, Study Suggests

Gene editing may be a potential treatment for anxiety and alcohol use disorder in adults who were exposed to binge drinking in their adolescence, according to the results of an animal study. The ...

Brain Circuit Responsible for Cocaine Withdrawal-Induced Anxiety and Relapse-Related Behavior

New research finds that drug withdrawal-induced anxiety and reinstatement of drug seeking behaviors are controlled by a single pathway in the brain and centered around dopamine ...

How Alcohol Cravings Get Stronger After Drinking During Withdrawal

A new finding in an animal study could eventually lead to improved treatments to minimize cravings in people with alcohol use ...

More Than a Million Smokers Likely to Quit After U.S. Bans Menthol Cigarettes

A new study projects that a U.S. ban on menthol cigarettes, proposed by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration, will lead more than 1.3 million smokers to quit. Among them, Black smokers will see the ...

Gene Mutations That Contribute to Head and Neck Cancer Also Provide 'Precision' Treatment Targets

About one-fifth of often deadly head and neck cancers harbor genetic mutations in a pathway that is key to normal cell growth, and scientists report those mutations, which enable abnormal cancer cell ...

Researchers Investigate Connection Between Loss of Motivation and Alzheimer's Disease Progression

Researchers are studying why neuropsychiatric symptoms, such as apathy and irritability, appear in most Alzheimer's disease patients before the onset of memory ...

The Impact of COVID-19 on Drug Use -- And How It Contributes to Overdose Risk

In rural communities, structural and community factors during the pandemic have increased anxiety, depression, and loneliness and altered drug use behaviors, according to a new ...

Differences in Children's Behavior Predict Midlife Health Behaviors, Study Finds

A recent study in Finland investigated the paths from childhood socioemotional behavior to midlife health behavior decades later. Socioemotional behaviour at age 8 predicted health behaviour both ...

Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Monday, June 13, 2022
Thursday, June 9, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Saturday, June 4, 2022
Thursday, June 2, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Tuesday, May 3, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022
Tuesday, April 19, 2022
Friday, April 15, 2022
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Monday, April 11, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Tuesday, March 29, 2022
Friday, March 25, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Friday, March 11, 2022
Wednesday, March 9, 2022
Friday, March 4, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Wednesday, February 16, 2022
Monday, February 14, 2022
Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Tuesday, January 25, 2022
Monday, January 24, 2022
Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Thursday, January 6, 2022
Friday, December 17, 2021
Wednesday, December 15, 2021
Monday, December 13, 2021
Wednesday, December 8, 2021
Monday, December 6, 2021
Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Monday, November 22, 2021
Monday, November 15, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Tuesday, November 2, 2021
Monday, November 1, 2021
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Thursday, October 14, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Thursday, October 7, 2021
Wednesday, October 6, 2021
Tuesday, October 5, 2021
Monday, October 4, 2021
Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Tuesday, September 28, 2021
Monday, September 27, 2021
Thursday, September 23, 2021
Thursday, September 16, 2021
Thursday, September 9, 2021
Wednesday, September 8, 2021
Wednesday, September 1, 2021
Monday, August 30, 2021
Tuesday, August 24, 2021
Monday, August 23, 2021
Friday, August 20, 2021
Monday, August 16, 2021
Tuesday, August 3, 2021
Wednesday, July 28, 2021
Sunday, July 18, 2021
Thursday, July 15, 2021
Thursday, June 24, 2021