advertisement
Anxiety News
June 26, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Training Virtually Can Reduce Psychosocial Stress and Anxiety

Everyone knows that exercise brings physical and psychological benefits. A new study suggests that virtual reality exercise induces similar effects, meaning those with limited mobility may be able to ...

Adults Sleep Better Together Than They Do Alone

A new study finds a relationship between bed sharing, sleep and mental health. Adults who share a bed with a partner or spouse sleep better than those who sleep alone, according to a new ...

Children Who Play Adventurously Have Better Mental Health

Children who spend more time playing adventurously have lower symptoms of anxiety and depression, and were happier over the first Covid-19 lockdown, according to new ...

How Sleep Helps to Process Emotions

Researchers have identified how the brain triages emotions during dream sleep to consolidate the storage of positive emotions while dampening the consolidation of negative ones. The work expands the ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:03am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Staring at Yourself During Virtual Chats May Worsen Your Mood

A new study finds that the more a person stares at themself while talking with a partner in an online chat, the more their mood degrades over the course of the conversation. Alcohol use appears to ...

Social Media Break Improves Mental Health, Study Suggests

Results of a new study which asked participants to take a week-long break from TikTok, Instagram, Twitter and Facebook find positive effects for wellbeing, depression and ...

Cognitive Impairment from Severe COVID-19 Equivalent to 20 Years of Aging, Study Finds

Cognitive impairment as a result of severe COVID-19 is similar to that sustained between 50 and 70 years of age and is the equivalent to losing 10 IQ points, say ...

Stress, Anxiety and Depression During Pregnancy May Hinder Toddler's Cognitive Development

Women's elevated anxiety, depression and stress during pregnancy altered key features of the fetal brain, which subsequently decreased their offspring's cognitive development at 18 months. ...

Neuronal Plasticity in Chronic Pain-Induced Anxiety Revealed

Researchers have shown how chronic pain leads to maladaptive anxiety in mice, with implications for treatment of chronic pain-related psychiatric disorders in ...

Gastrointestinal Issues Linked With Anxiety, Social Withdrawal for Kids With Autism

A new study found a 'bi-directional' relationship between gastrointestinal issues and internalized symptoms in children and adolescents with autism -- meaning the symptoms seem to be ...

Study: Economic Burden of PTSD 'Staggering'

A new study finds that the national economic burden of PTSD goes beyond direct health care expenses and exceeds the costs of other common mental health conditions, such as anxiety and depression. The ...

Study Reviews COVID-Related Hospital Visitation Limits and Family Stress

Efforts by hospitals to protect people from COVID-19 by restricting them from visiting family members in ICUs may have contributed to a significant increase in stress-related disorders, according to ...

Scientists Discover Mechanism Behind Chemically Induced Suppression of Fearful Memories

Fearful events negatively impact the brain. For instance, war veterans often go through post-traumatic stress disorder months after the cessation of the triggering event. Now, the precise mechanism ...

Antidepressants Are Not Associated With Improved Quality of Life in the Long Run, Study Finds

Over time, using antidepressants is not associated with significantly better health-related quality of life, compared to people with depression who do not take the drugs, according to a new ...

Fewer Smartphones, More Well-Being

How much digital detox is necessary to live a better life? The good news is that we don't have to waive them ...

When Severe Infection Causes Long-Term Mood Disorders: A Promising Avenue to Prevent Mental Illness Following a Transient Infection

Scientists used pharmacogenetic techniques to identify a dedicated neural circuit comprising the central nucleus of the amygdala and the bed nucleus of the stria terminalis. The activation of this ...

Your Mental Health May Impact Your Chances of Breakthrough COVID

A new study has shown that people who are vaccinated against SARS-CoV-2, and have a history of certain psychiatric conditions, have a heightened risk of COVID-19 -- a finding that may be related to ...

A Drug That Treats Alcoholism May Be the Next Anti-Anxiety Medication

Disulfiram is a drug used to treat chronic alcoholism. However, studies suggest that it also inhibits chemokine receptor signaling pathways that are associated with the regulation of anxiety in ...

Some Types of Epilepsy May Be Associated With Worse Quality of Life

A new study suggests that people with epilepsy associated with head injuries, especially the type not well controlled by medication, are more likely to have other health conditions like depression, ...

Good News: People Can Recover and Thrive After Mental Illness and Substance-Use Disorders

There is good news for people suffering from depression, anxiety, substance abuse, and other mental health disorders. New research explains how people who have suffered from mental illness can go on ...

Firefighters With PTSD Likely to Have Relationship Problems

The stress firefighters face takes a toll. New research finds that those with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder are likely to have relationship problems due to an inability to regulate ...

Babies Exposed to Cannabis in the Womb May Be at Risk for Obesity, High Blood Sugar

Cannabis use among pregnant women is on the rise and may be associated with negative health outcomes in children, according to a new ...

The Hidden Issue of Anorexia in Pregnancy

Pregnant women with anorexia are at greater risk of having a stillbirth, underweight baby or pre-term birth, yet there are no clear guidelines for how doctors should manage the condition, according ...

Exercise Holds Even More Heart Health Benefits for People With Stress-Related Conditions

Regular physical activity had nearly doubled the cardiovascular benefit in individuals with depression or anxiety, compared with individuals without these diagnoses, according to a new ...

Monday, June 13, 2022
Friday, May 6, 2022
Tuesday, May 3, 2022
Friday, April 29, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Monday, April 4, 2022
Thursday, March 31, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Thursday, March 24, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Wednesday, March 9, 2022
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Friday, February 25, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Monday, January 31, 2022
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Monday, January 24, 2022
Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Friday, January 7, 2022
Friday, December 17, 2021
Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Monday, November 29, 2021
Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Thursday, November 18, 2021
Saturday, November 13, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Tuesday, November 9, 2021
Thursday, November 4, 2021
Thursday, October 28, 2021
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Wednesday, October 20, 2021
Thursday, October 14, 2021
Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Thursday, October 7, 2021
Tuesday, October 5, 2021
Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Tuesday, September 28, 2021
Monday, September 27, 2021
Wednesday, September 22, 2021
Thursday, September 16, 2021
Wednesday, September 8, 2021
Thursday, August 26, 2021
Tuesday, August 24, 2021
Monday, August 23, 2021
Monday, August 16, 2021
Monday, August 9, 2021
Friday, August 6, 2021
Thursday, July 29, 2021
Friday, July 16, 2021
Thursday, July 8, 2021
Monday, June 28, 2021
Tuesday, June 22, 2021
Monday, June 21, 2021
Thursday, June 17, 2021
Wednesday, June 9, 2021
Monday, June 7, 2021
Friday, June 4, 2021
Tuesday, May 25, 2021
Monday, May 24, 2021
Thursday, May 20, 2021
Friday, May 14, 2021
Wednesday, May 12, 2021
Thursday, May 6, 2021
Monday, May 3, 2021