advertisement
Brain Injury News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Newly Discovered Brain Cell Sheds Light on the Formation of Memories

The study reports a novel neuron type in the hippocampus, defines its functional role in the brain, discloses its connectivity with other nerve cells and brain areas and progresses the understanding ...

Research Brings Hope for Spinal Cord Injury Treatment

Scientists have shown an existing drug may reduce damage after spinal cord injury, by blocking the inflammatory response in the spinal ...

Epilepsy Drug Stops Nervous System Tumor Growth in Mice

People with neurofibromatosis type 1 (NF1) develop tumors on nerves throughout their bodies. Researchers have discovered that nerve cells with the mutation that causes NF1 are hyperexcitable and that ...

Scientists See Signs of Traumatic Brain Injury in Headbutting Muskox

Scientists saw for the first time hallmarks of concussions and other head trauma in the brains of deceased headbutting animals -- muskoxen and bighorn sheep. The results may contradict the ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:02pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Scientists Unravel the Mystery of Genes That Are Key to Brain Development

New research shows the mechanism by which genes coding for a subset of long non-coding RNA (lncRNA) interact with neighboring genes to regulate the development and function of essential nerve ...

Brain Differences in Pain Modulation in People With Self-Injury Behavior

Researchers might have found an explanation for why people with self-injury behavior generally feel less pain than others. The key seems to be a more effective pain-modulation system, a discovery ...

Type 2 Diabetes Accelerates Brain Aging and Cognitive Decline

Scientists have demonstrated that normal brain aging is accelerated by approximately 26% in people with progressive type 2 diabetes compared with individuals without the disease, reports a new ...

'Sting' Protein's Efforts to Clean Up Brain Cell Damage May Speed Parkinson's Disease Progress

In studies with mouse and human tissue, as well as live mice, researchers report that a snag in the normal process of cleaning up broken DNA in brain cells may hasten the progression of ...

Concussion Symptoms in Children May Have Multiple Underlying Causes

Different types of brain damage caused by a concussion may lead to similar symptoms in children, according to new research. A new way of studying concussions could help develop future ...

Clues About Concussions from the Gut

Scientists suggest telltale signs of concussions might be found in the gut. By taking blood, stool and saliva samples from 33 football players, the researchers were able to examine the diagnostic ...

New Insights on the Importance of Skull Channels for Brain Health

Researchers who previously discovered channels in the skull have found that cerebrospinal fluid can exit the brain through these channels to reach the skull's bone marrow, which can detect and ...

Fungal Meningitis Spreads by Blocking and Bursting Blood Vessels

New research has revealed how fungus blocks and bursts blood vessels in the brain, helping scientists better understand how meningitis ...

Recognizing an Impending Stroke

Subarachnoid hemorrhage is a type of bleeding stroke which can lead to a delayed ischemic stroke after just a few days. Researchers have shown that massive electrochemical waves in the brain act as a ...

Some Types of Epilepsy May Be Associated With Worse Quality of Life

A new study suggests that people with epilepsy associated with head injuries, especially the type not well controlled by medication, are more likely to have other health conditions like depression, ...

Diagnosing Sports-Related Concussions May Be Harder Than Thought

The tool being used to diagnose concussions might be overestimating the condition and wrongly identifying symptoms like fatigue and neck pain caused from intense exercise and not a brain injury, ...

The Dark Matter of the Brain

They are part of the brain of almost every animal species, yet they remain usually invisible even under the electron ...

Damaged Nerve Behind Athletes' Post-Concussion Issues

Depression, dizziness, difficulty focusing the gaze and balance problems. Many professional athletes who have sustained head trauma in sports have lingering symptoms that affect everyday life. Little ...

Study Shows COVID-19's Lingering Impacts on the Brain

Researchers have shown in detail how COVID-19 affects the central nervous system, according to a new study. The findings are the first comprehensive assessment of neuropathology associated with ...

Stabilizing Low Blood Sugar in Infancy Prevents Long-Term Brain Damage

Low blood sugar in infancy is serious, but treatment can ward off long-term brain damage in infants, a new study has ...

One in Four Children Who Have Suffered a Minor Head Injury Is Liable to Suffer from Chronic Post-Concussion Syndrome, Study Finds

A new study found that one in four children (25.3 percent) who have been discharged from the emergency room after a mild head injury are misdiagnosed and continue to suffer from persistent ...

How the Gut Communicates With the Brain

New research has discovered how the enteric nervous system -- or 'second brain' -- can communicate with both the brain and spinal cord, which up until now had remained a major mystery. The ...

New Strategy Reduces Brain Damage in Alzheimer’s and Related Disorders, in Mice

Alzheimer's disease is the most common and best known of the tauopathies, a set of neurodegenerative brain diseases caused by toxic tangles of the protein tau. A study has now shown that ...

How Coronavirus Triggers Immune Response in Brain

A new study describes how the spike protein used by the coronavirus to enter human cells can have a similar effect on the brain's immune cells as it does with the rest of the ...

What Regulates the 'Glue' Needed for Nerve Repair?

Researchers have identified a molecule essential for regulating the repair of injured nerves, which could help people recover from nerve ...

Thursday, June 16, 2022
Monday, June 13, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Monday, April 4, 2022
Friday, April 1, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Friday, February 18, 2022
Thursday, February 17, 2022
Wednesday, February 16, 2022
Monday, February 14, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Monday, January 31, 2022
Thursday, January 20, 2022
Friday, January 14, 2022
Thursday, January 13, 2022
Thursday, January 6, 2022
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Monday, December 13, 2021
Monday, December 6, 2021
Friday, December 3, 2021
Tuesday, November 30, 2021
Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Monday, November 22, 2021
Tuesday, November 16, 2021
Thursday, November 11, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Monday, November 8, 2021
Thursday, November 4, 2021
Wednesday, November 3, 2021
Friday, October 22, 2021
Wednesday, October 20, 2021
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Monday, October 18, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Wednesday, October 6, 2021
Saturday, October 2, 2021
Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Thursday, September 23, 2021
Thursday, September 9, 2021
Tuesday, September 7, 2021
Wednesday, September 1, 2021
Wednesday, August 25, 2021
Tuesday, August 17, 2021
Tuesday, August 10, 2021
Thursday, August 5, 2021
Thursday, July 29, 2021
Sunday, July 25, 2021
Thursday, July 22, 2021
Monday, July 19, 2021
Friday, July 16, 2021
Thursday, July 8, 2021
Tuesday, July 6, 2021
Friday, July 2, 2021
Monday, June 28, 2021
Thursday, June 24, 2021
Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Tuesday, June 15, 2021
Monday, June 14, 2021
Thursday, June 10, 2021
Monday, June 7, 2021
Friday, June 4, 2021
Tuesday, June 1, 2021
Friday, May 28, 2021
Thursday, May 27, 2021
Wednesday, May 26, 2021
Thursday, May 20, 2021
Wednesday, May 19, 2021