advertisement
Educational Psychology News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Developmental Dyslexia Essential to Human Adaptive Success

Researchers say people with developmental dyslexia have specific strengths relating to exploring the unknown that have contributed to the successful adaptation and survival of our ...

Are Babies the Key to the Next Generation of Artificial Intelligence?

Babies can help unlock the next generation of artificial intelligence (AI), according to neuroscientists who have just published new guiding principles for improving AI. The research examines the ...

Children Who Attend Schools With More Traffic Noise Show Slower Cognitive Development

A new study suggests that traffic noise at schools has a detrimental effect on the development of working memory and attention in primary-school ...
Researchers have found that one key role of the neuromodulator noradrenaline, produced by the locus coeruleus, is to help the brain learn from ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:32pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

A New Model Sheds Light on How We Learn Motor Skills

Researchers have developed a mathematical model of motor learning that reflects the motor learning process in the human brain. Their findings suggest that motor exploration -- that is, increased ...

A Smart Jumpsuit Tracks Infants' Motor Development

New wearable technology creates new possibilities for assessing the neurological development of young children. Early motor assessment is essential for supporting the early detection of ...

Dog-Assisted Interventions Lead to Lower Stress Levels in Children

Dog-assisted interventions can lead to significantly lower stress in children both with and without special needs, according to a new study using salivary cortisol ...

Helping Middle School Students Achieve More

A new study of intermediate school students in urban California and New York shows promise for underachievers. Researchers found that early intervention with teachers, training students that ...

Children in Remote School Faced More Sleep, Behavior and Social Challenges

Elementary school-aged children enrolled in remote learning experienced greater behavioral, learning-related, and sleep difficulties compared with children receiving in-person instruction, according ...

Whole-Body Learning Can Boost Children's Letter Sound Recognition -- The First Step Toward Reading

Children who move while learning sounds of letters significantly improve their ability to recognize individual letter ...

Just Being Exposed to New Things Makes People 'Ready to Learn'

A new study is one of the first to provide experimental evidence that people learn from incidental exposure to things that they know nothing about and aren't even trying to ...

Girls' Chance of Success at School in Sub-Saharan Africa Shaped by Language They Are Taught in

A new report argues that efforts to increase girls' participation in education in different parts of Africa should assess the detrimental effect teaching in English is having on ...

New Model Could Improve Matches Between Students and Schools

Simultaneous and uncoordinated school admissions in situations where students have multiple options can lead to unfilled seats and a lot of stress for families and administrators. To create a fairer, ...

Motivation for Sports and School Go Hand in Hand for Adolescent Athletes

Adolescent athletes with high motivation for school also have high motivation for sports. Male students tend to be less interested in school than their female peers, a new study ...

The Numbers Don't Lie: Australia Is Failing at Maths and We Need to Find a New Formula to Arrest the Decline

Australia has suffered a significant drop in teenage maths proficiency in the past 20 years -- sliding from 11th in the OECD rankings to 29th place out of 38 countries, prompting widespread debate ...

Brain Searches for the Best Way to Move the Body

Research that examines how the body adapts to new movements is shedding new light on how the nervous system learns, and could help to inform a wide range of applications, from customized ...

Joubert Syndrome: Intellectual Disability and Defects in the Hippocampus

An important link has been found between the intellectual disability experienced by children with the rare disease Joubert Syndrome (JS) and defects in the hippocampus. The hippocampus is the part of ...

How Alcohol Cravings Get Stronger After Drinking During Withdrawal

A new finding in an animal study could eventually lead to improved treatments to minimize cravings in people with alcohol use ...

Student Satisfaction in Flipped Classroom Is Built on Guidance, Pedagogy, and a Safe Atmosphere

Students are satisfied with flipped classroom when they have systematic guidance on the teaching approach in use, comprehensive understanding of both the content being taught and the discipline more ...

Want More Students to Learn Languages? Win Over the Parents, Research Suggests

New research shows that children's willingness to study subjects like French, German or Spanish is shaped far more by the attitudes of their parents, than by their teachers or friends. The ...

New Brain Learning Mechanism Calls for Revision of Long-Held Neuroscience Hypothesis

Just one single neuron can realize deep learning algorithms, which previously required an artificial complex network consisting of thousands of connected neurons. This discovery is expected to have ...

New Research Helps Explain How Ritalin Sharpens Attention

Researchers found animals that had taken methylphenidate performed better on a visual task of attention, and that the improvement happened exactly when that same metric of neuron activity ...

Living in Areas With More Greenery May Boost Cognitive Function, Study Finds

New evidence links residential exposure to greenspace, such as green vegetation, as a potential population-level approach to improve processing speed and attention, and overall cognitive ...

Study Suggests Early Self-Awareness of Autism Leads to Better Quality of Life

People who learn they are autistic when they are younger may have a heightened quality of life and sense of well-being in adulthood, according to a new ...

Friday, June 24, 2022
Friday, June 17, 2022
Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Monday, June 13, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Tuesday, May 3, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022
Sunday, May 1, 2022
Friday, April 29, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Monday, April 11, 2022
Thursday, April 7, 2022
Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Monday, February 28, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Tuesday, February 15, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Wednesday, January 26, 2022
Tuesday, January 25, 2022
Thursday, January 20, 2022
Tuesday, January 18, 2022
Thursday, January 13, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Monday, January 10, 2022
Friday, January 7, 2022
Tuesday, December 21, 2021
Monday, December 20, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Wednesday, December 8, 2021
Thursday, December 2, 2021
Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Monday, November 22, 2021
Thursday, November 18, 2021
Wednesday, November 17, 2021
Monday, November 15, 2021
Thursday, November 11, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Monday, November 8, 2021
Saturday, October 30, 2021
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Saturday, October 23, 2021
Friday, October 22, 2021
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Thursday, October 7, 2021
Wednesday, October 6, 2021
Thursday, September 30, 2021
Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Sunday, September 26, 2021
Friday, September 24, 2021
Tuesday, September 21, 2021
Monday, September 20, 2021
Friday, September 17, 2021
Monday, September 13, 2021
Thursday, September 9, 2021
Monday, September 6, 2021
Monday, August 30, 2021
Thursday, August 26, 2021
Tuesday, August 24, 2021