advertisement
Relationships News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Scent of a Friend: Similarities in Body Odor May Contribute to Social Bonding

Researchers have found that people may have a tendency to form friendships with individuals who have a similar body odor. The researchers were even ...

Relationships Are Best Between People of Similar Desirability, Study Finds

New research found that not only are people who are similarly desirable more likely to enter into a relationship, but they are also more likely to experience success within that ...

Adults Sleep Better Together Than They Do Alone

A new study finds a relationship between bed sharing, sleep and mental health. Adults who share a bed with a partner or spouse sleep better than those who sleep alone, according to a new ...

Healthy Development Thanks to Older Siblings

During the first years of their lives, children develop the cognitive, social and emotional skills that will provide the foundations for their lifelong health and achievements. However, exposure to ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:33pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Staring at Yourself During Virtual Chats May Worsen Your Mood

A new study finds that the more a person stares at themself while talking with a partner in an online chat, the more their mood degrades over the course of the conversation. Alcohol use appears to ...

Young Adults Turn Crushes Into Love

The 'hookup culture' does not seem to be the norm in real college life, suggests a new study. Rather, young adults are looking for ...

Research Reveals Impact of Loneliness on COVID-19 Vaccine Antibody Response

A new study reveals that loneliness and social stresses can have a negative impact on our antibody response to COVID-19 vaccines. Researchers have found that lower neighborhood cohesion is associated ...

Children With Same-Sex Parents Are Socially Well-Adjusted

Difficult social and legal conditions are stress factors for same-sex families, but do not affect the behavior of children and young people with same-sex parents, new research ...

In-Person Socialization Down, but Social Media Isn't to Blame, Researcher Says

A new article reviews the best available evidence to debunk the 'social displacement hypothesis' that holds that use of mobile and social media is the cause of decreased face-to-face (FtF) ...

New Studies Show Special Mental Health Risks for Certain Groups of New Doctors

First-year surgery residents, and first-year medical residents in all fields who are members of sexual minorities such as LGBTQ, are more likely than others to develop depression during the stressful ...

Behavioral Treatment for Deficits of Facial Affect Recognition in Multiple Sclerosis

A recent study has demonstrated efficacy for the behavioral intervention, EMOPRINT, for treating deficits of facial recognition in individuals with multiple sclerosis (MS). The study provides Class I ...

People Born in the 80s Not Likely to Marry Their First Cohabiting Partner

Compared to people born in the 70s, who are almost equally likely to marry or separate from their first cohabiting partners, 80s children are significantly more likely to separate from the first ...

Those Who Ogle Also More Likely to Have Harmful Attitudes, Study Finds

New research examining 'eye gaze behavior' has found that looking at people's bodies, rather than their faces, is linked with harmful attitudes towards sexual ...

What's the Prevailing Opinion on Social Media? Look at the Flocks, Says Researcher

A communication researcher has developed a framework for measuring the slippery concept of social media public opinion. Murmuration identifies meaningful groups of social media actors based on the ...

Robot That Seems to Convey Emotion While Reading

Researchers have created a robot with an internal weight that can give the impression of conveying emotions while reading text messages. It can also remind users to not get upset, which may help them ...

Communities With Higher Levels of Racial Prejudice Have Worse Health Outcomes

People who live in communities with higher levels of racial prejudice have worse health outcomes, including more heart disease and mental health problems and higher overall mortality rates, according ...

Agreeableness a Helpful Trait for General Success in Life, Study Finds

Agreeableness has desirable effect on hundreds of physical, psychological, occupational metrics that impact more than just job ...

Disliking Music: What’s the Point?

So, a metal head shows up at a techno party... pretty unlikely, right? Right. Disliking certain kinds of music is just as constitutive of personal taste as is liking other kinds; and because it ...

One in Three Young People Say They Felt Happier During Lockdown

One in three young people say their mental health and wellbeing improved during COVID-19 lockdown measures, with potential contributing factors including feeling less lonely, avoiding bullying and ...

Employers Should Nurture Friendship and Support Amongst Co-Workers to Unlock Creativity, Shows New Research

A new study reveals that care from a co-worker inspires people to be supportive to their partner at home, showing that co-workers have a significant role to play in enabling couples to cope with ...

Context-Dependent Behavior Can Make Cooperation Flourish

People adopt different social behavior depending on the context they're in. A deeply generous friend may be a cutthroat colleague, for example. Using a game theory framework, researchers find ...

A Spouse's Education Can Positively Impact Their Partner's Overall Health

A new study found that spousal education is positively related to people's overall health, with an effect size that rivals the impact of a person's own ...

Babies Can Tell Who Has Close Relationships Based on One Clue: Saliva

Neuroscientists have identified a specific signal that young children and even babies can use to determine whether two people have a strong relationship and a mutual obligation to help each other: ...

When People 'Click' They Respond Faster to Each Other

When two people are on the same page in a conversation, sometimes their minds just 'click.' A new study demonstrates that clicking isn't just a figure of speech but is predicted by ...

Monday, June 13, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Friday, May 6, 2022
Friday, April 29, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Friday, April 1, 2022
Thursday, March 31, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Monday, March 7, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Friday, February 18, 2022
Wednesday, February 9, 2022
Monday, January 24, 2022
Thursday, January 20, 2022
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Wednesday, January 5, 2022
Thursday, December 23, 2021
Monday, December 20, 2021
Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Monday, November 22, 2021
Monday, November 15, 2021
Tuesday, November 9, 2021
Monday, November 1, 2021
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Thursday, October 21, 2021
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Thursday, October 14, 2021
Thursday, September 30, 2021
Thursday, September 16, 2021
Thursday, September 9, 2021
Thursday, September 2, 2021
Tuesday, August 31, 2021
Tuesday, August 24, 2021
Tuesday, August 17, 2021
Monday, August 16, 2021
Wednesday, August 11, 2021
Monday, August 9, 2021
Thursday, July 29, 2021
Tuesday, July 20, 2021
Wednesday, June 30, 2021
Monday, June 28, 2021
Monday, June 21, 2021
Monday, June 14, 2021
Monday, June 7, 2021
Wednesday, May 26, 2021
Thursday, May 13, 2021
Wednesday, May 12, 2021
Tuesday, May 11, 2021
Monday, May 10, 2021
Tuesday, May 4, 2021
Monday, May 3, 2021
Monday, April 26, 2021
Tuesday, April 20, 2021
Monday, April 19, 2021
Friday, April 9, 2021
Thursday, April 8, 2021
Wednesday, March 31, 2021
Thursday, March 25, 2021
Wednesday, March 17, 2021
Monday, March 8, 2021
Thursday, February 25, 2021
Monday, February 22, 2021
Friday, February 19, 2021
Thursday, February 18, 2021
Wednesday, February 17, 2021
Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Friday, February 12, 2021
Wednesday, February 10, 2021
Thursday, February 4, 2021
Thursday, January 21, 2021
Wednesday, January 13, 2021
Monday, January 11, 2021
Friday, December 11, 2020
Thursday, December 10, 2020
Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Thursday, November 19, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Tuesday, November 10, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Monday, October 26, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020