advertisement
Molecular Biology News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

By Odin's Beard! Tubulins Named After the Norse God May Be the Missing Link Between Single-Celled Organisms and Human Cells

The 'missing link' between bacterial cells and human and plant cells offers key to the process of eukaryogenesis, the point at which animal and plant ...

Giant Bacteria Found in Guadeloupe Mangroves Challenge Traditional Concepts

Researchers describe the morphological and genomic features of a 'macro' microbe' -- a giant filamentous bacterium composed of a single cell discovered in the mangroves of Guadeloupe. Using various ...

The Secret Lives of Mites in the Skin of Our Faces

A full DNA analysis of mites that live in the hair follicles of all humans reveals explanations for their bizarre mating habits, body features and evolutionary future. Inbreeding and isolation means ...

Can We Save More Lives If We Let Resistant Bacteria Live?

Every day, people die of simple inflammation because bacteria can no longer be killed with antibiotics. So what do we do? Maybe we should spend less energy on killing them and more on 'only' making ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:39pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

From Outside to Inside: A Rapid and Precise Total Assessment Method for Cells

Researchers have demonstrated an improved version of impedance cytometry that uses four frequencies of applied AC voltage to measure the size and shape of individual microorganisms. By ensuring that ...

Researchers Discover a New Receptor Regulating Sebaceous Gland Progenitor Cell Function

Stem cells and progenitor cells play an important role in the renewal of multiple tissues. Scientists have discovered a molecule called embigin on the surface of epithelia progenitor cells and proven ...

Can a Parasitic Wasp Save Your Fruit Crops?

Researchers developed a toolkit for investigating the molecular mechanisms governing the parasitic nature of the wasp species Asobara japonica. They first used DNA and RNA-sequencing-based techniques ...

Dynamic Rearrangement and Autophagic Degradation of the Mitochondria During Plant Spermiogenesis

Researchers have reported that in the liverwort Marchantia polymorpha, the number of mitochondria in the spermatozoid (sperm) is controlled by autophagy during ...

New Solution for Stem Cell Manufacturing

Researchers have developed a unique 3D printed system for harvesting stem cells from ...

New Perspective on RNA Function: RNA Regulates Proteins and Thereby Can Control Cell Growth, Study Shows

Scientists gained new insights into RNA-mediated regulation of proteins (riboregulation) and its role in controlling cell growth, and most importantly how undifferentiated cells (embryonic stem ...

Researchers have identified a molecule in the blood that is produced during exercise and can effectively reduce food intake and obesity in ...

Mechanism of Expanding Bacteria Revealed

The process that allows bacteria to expand and grow while maintaining the strength of the cell walls has been identified as offering a potential new target for ...

Genetic Discovery Could Spell Mosquitoes' Death Knell

A genetic discovery could turn disease-carrying mosquitoes into insect Peter Pans, preventing them from ever maturing or ...

Stem Cells Unraveled: We're One Step Closer to Making Organs in a Dish

Using a mouse model, researchers have deciphered an alternative route that certain cells take to make organs and used that knowledge to exploit a new type of stem cells as a potential source of ...

Fluorescence Microscopy Shows How Living Cells Form Vesicles to Transport Cargo Like Growth Factors

Cells have a clever way called clathrin-mediated endocytosis to transport cargos like growth factors across the cell membrane and into the cell. Researchers used a sophisticated fluorescence ...

Research Sheds Light on How Bacteria Communicate Their Way to Causing Infection

Scientists have identified proteins that prevent a bacterial cell from becoming misguided by its own messaging, allowing it to instead wait for collective communication from its ...

New Way of Generating Insulin-Producing Cells

Researchers show how a molecule that they have identified stimulates the formation of new insulin-producing cells in zebrafish and mammalian tissue, through a newly described mechanism for regulating ...

Bacterial Intimacy Insights Could Help Tackle Antimicrobial Resistance

Researchers have uncovered new details about how bacteria hook up to exchange DNA that helps them resist ...

Decoding a Key Part of the Cell, Atom by Atom

A team led by André Hoelz has made two big leaps forward in our understanding of the nuclear pore complex, a vital cellular ...

How Crops Can Better Survive Floods

Researchers show which signaling pathways make plants more resistant to flooding. The molecule ethylene is a warning signal for plants that they are under water and switches on the emergency supply ...

New Research Gives Insights Into How Organelles Divide in Cells

A pioneering study has shed new light on how subcellular organelles divide and ...

Chromatin Originated in Ancient Microbes One to Two Billion Years Ago

Researchers now reveal that nature's storage solution first evolved in ancient microbes living on Earth between one and two billion years ...

Artificial Intelligence Reveals a Never-Before Described 3D Structure in Rotavirus Spike Protein

The tip of rotavirus B spike protein is not only totally different from the corresponding structure in rotavirus A and C, but also no other protein before had been reported to have this ...

Scientists Determine Structure of Key Factor in RNA Quality Control

In biology, getting rid of stuff can be just as important as making it. A buildup of cells, proteins, or other molecules that are no longer needed can cause problems, so living things have evolved ...

Monday, June 27, 2022
Wednesday, June 22, 2022
Thursday, June 16, 2022
Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Tuesday, June 14, 2022
Monday, June 13, 2022
Friday, June 10, 2022
Thursday, June 9, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Friday, June 3, 2022
Thursday, June 2, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022
Thursday, May 26, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022
Friday, May 13, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Friday, May 6, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Tuesday, May 3, 2022