advertisement
Sea Life News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

How Did Vertebrates First Evolve Jaws?

Scientists reveal clues about the evolutionary origin of jaws by studying the embryonic development of zebrafish -- an approach known as 'evo-devo.' Using imaging and cell tracing techniques in ...

Southern Resident Killer Whales Not Getting Enough to Eat Since 2018

The endangered southern resident killer whale population isn't getting enough to eat, and hasn't been since 2018, a new study has determined. The animals have been in an energy deficit, averaged ...

Humans Can't, but Turtles Can: Reduce Weakening and Deterioration With Age

Evolutionary theories of ageing predict that all living organisms weaken and deteriorate with age (a process known as senescence) -- and eventually die. Now, researchers show that certain animal ...
Megalodon sharks, which went extinct about 3 million years ago, were three times longer than modern great white sharks and were apex predators at highest trophic level ever ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:39pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Tapping the Ocean as a Source of Natural Products

Using DNA data, researchers have examined seawater to find not only new species of bacteria, but also previously unknown natural products that may one day prove ...

2021 Heat Wave Created 'Perfect Storm' for Shellfish Die-Off

It's hard to forget the excruciating heat that blanketed the Pacific Northwest in late June 2021. Temperatures in Oregon, Washington and British Columbia soared to well above 100 degrees ...

Pacific Whiting Skin Has Anti-Aging Properties That Prevent Wrinkles, Research Suggests

The gelatin in the skin of Pacific whiting, an abundant fish on the Pacific Coast of North America, may help prevent skin wrinkling caused by ultraviolet radiation, a new study ...

Mangrove and Reef Restoration Yield Positive Returns on Investment for Flood Protection, Study Shows

Restoration of mangroves and coral reefs can be a cost-effective solution for coastal flood reduction in more than 20 countries across the Caribbean. Researchers used methods from the risk and ...

Are New Corals in Sydney Dangerous Invaders or Harmless Refugees?

A new study has found that invading subtropical corals will survive and thrive in coastal Sydney, which could spell trouble for existing Sydney coral ...

Sharks May Be Closer to the City Than You Think, New Study Finds

The world's coastlines are rapidly urbanizing, but how this increased human presence may impact species living in the ocean is not fully understood. Scientists tracked the movements of three ...

Newly Documented Population of Polar Bears in Southeast Greenland Sheds Light on the Species' Future in a Warming Arctic

A new population of polar bears documented on the southeast coast of Greenland use glacier ice to survive despite limited access to sea ice. This small, genetically distinct group of polar bears ...

100,000-Year-Old Polar Bear Genome Reveals Ancient Hybridization With Brown Bears

An analysis of ancient DNA from a 100,000-year-old polar bear has revealed that extensive hybridization between polar bears and brown bears occurred during the last warm interglacial period in the ...

Co-Existing Mangrove-Coral Habitats Have a New Global Classification System

By coexisting more closely with mangroves, tropical coral species may have found an alternative habitat where they can thrive in the face of climate ...

AI Reveals Scale of Eelgrass Vulnerability to Warming, Disease

A combination of ecological field methods and cutting-edge artificial intelligence has helped an interdisciplinary research group detect eelgrass wasting disease at nearly three dozen sites along a ...

Seagrass Meadows Are Reliable Fishing Grounds for Food

A new study in Ocean and Coastal Management shows that seagrass fisheries provide a reliable safety-net for poor, since fishermen perceive those habitats to maintain large fish catches over time. ...

Hidden in Plain Sight: Biologists Say Southern Right Whale Habitat Choice Is Key to Keeping Young Calves Safe

While researchers have speculated that the up to 50-foot-long whales choose shallow, coastal locations for lack of predators and warmer and calmer waters, a team of biologists recently uncovered a ...

Right Whales' Survival Rates Plummet After Severe Injury from Fishing Gear

Most North Atlantic right whales that are severely injured in fishing gear entanglements die within three years, a study finds. Severely injured whales were up to eight times more likely to die than ...

Pioneering Study Shows Climate Played Crucial Role in Changing Location of Ancient Coral Reefs

Prehistoric coral reefs dating back up to 250 million years extended much further away from the Earth's equator than today, new research has ...

Seal Whiskers, the Secret Weapon for Hunting

The deep ocean is a dark place, yet deep-diving seals can easily locate their prey in that darkness. A multi-national research team has used field-based studies to better understand how seals use ...

Plastic Pollution in Ocean May Harbor Novel Antibiotics

Plastic pollution in the ocean, which can support microbial communities, may serve as a source for novel antibiotics, according to a new student-led study conducted in collaboration with the Scripps ...

Ningaloo Corals Are Ill-Equipped to Handle Future Climate Change

The relatively pristine coral populations of WA's inshore Kimberley region are better equipped to survive ocean warming than the World Heritage-listed Ningaloo Marine Park, according to a new ...

How 'Viral Dark Matter' May Help Mitigate Climate Change

A deep dive into the 5,500 marine RNA virus species scientists recently identified has found that several may help drive carbon absorbed from the atmosphere to permanent storage on the ocean ...

As the Ocean Heats Up Hungrier Predators Take Control

A hotter ocean is a hungrier ocean -- at least as far as fish predators are concerned. Scientists have discovered predator impacts in the Atlantic and Pacific peak at higher temperatures. The effects ...

New Insights Into How Cyanobacteria Regulate Zinc Uptake in the Open Ocean

An interdisciplinary research team has identified a remarkably efficient regulatory network that controls zinc accumulation in the open ocean cyanobacterium ...

Wednesday, June 22, 2022
Tuesday, June 21, 2022
Friday, June 17, 2022
Thursday, June 16, 2022
Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Tuesday, June 14, 2022
Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Friday, June 10, 2022
Thursday, June 9, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Friday, June 3, 2022
Thursday, June 2, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Friday, May 13, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Friday, May 6, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022
Sunday, May 1, 2022
Friday, April 29, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Monday, April 18, 2022