advertisement
Economics News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

New Theory of Decision-Making Seeks to Explain Why Humans Don't Make Optimal Choices

A new theory of economic decision-making offers an explanation as to why humans, in general, make decisions that are simply adequate, not ...

Scientists Call for Cap on Production to End Plastic Pollution

An international group of experts says the production of new plastics should be capped to solve the plastic pollution problem. The authors argue that all other measures won't suffice to keep up with ...

Millionaires More Risk-Tolerant and Emotionally Stable

Millionaires are more risk-tolerant, emotionally stable, open, extroverted, and conscientious than the general population, according to new ...

Subsidy Would Improve Fruit and Veggie Intake by as Much as 15%, Say Economists

High fixed costs for retailing fresh fruit and vegetables means that they cost 40% more than would be efficient, unlike unhealthy alternatives, which ...
Latest Headlines
updated 5:13pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Default Options Facilitate Faster Carbon Offsetting in Air Travel

Economists find that many air travelers more readily choose faster, but more expensive carbon offsetting options online if selecting a slower option requires action. However, the readiness to do so ...

Attitudes Around Older Motherhood Too Often Emphasize Risk and Pregnancy Timing

A political science professor argues that much of the official language around older motherhood is rooted in both ageism and ableism, as well as being out of step with current childbirth trends. The ...

Scientists Conceptualize a Species 'Stock Market' to Put a Price Tag on Actions Posing Risks to Biodiversity

Species have intrinsic value, but also provide ecosystem services of major economic value, for example, bees that pollinate our crops. However, as such values are hard to translate into figures, ...

Mangrove and Reef Restoration Yield Positive Returns on Investment for Flood Protection, Study Shows

Restoration of mangroves and coral reefs can be a cost-effective solution for coastal flood reduction in more than 20 countries across the Caribbean. Researchers used methods from the risk and ...

Higher Socioeconomic Status Linked to Increased Air Pollution Exposure in China

Researchers have uncovered that people living in China who have a higher socioeconomic status are actually more exposed to outdoor air pollution, also known as ambient air pollution. This finding ...

How a Cognitive Bias Is Blocking the Rise of Electric Cars

What are the barriers to the adoption of electric cars? Although the main financial and technological obstacles have been removed, their market share still needs to increase. In a recent study, a ...

New Model Could Improve Matches Between Students and Schools

Simultaneous and uncoordinated school admissions in situations where students have multiple options can lead to unfilled seats and a lot of stress for families and administrators. To create a fairer, ...

SMEs Are Likely to Achieve Higher Environmental Performance Through Circular Economy Adoption, New Research Finds

New findings have found Small and Medium Sized Enterprises (SMEs) are likely to achieve higher environmental performance through circular economy (CE) ...

How to Balance Biodiversity Goals With Limited Economic Resources

In 2019, a landmark report gave the world its first report card on biodiversity loss. There was one crystal clear conclusion: human actions threaten more species with global extinction than ever ...

Lies That 'Might' Eventually Come True Seem Less Unethical

People may be willing to condone statements they know to be false and even spread misinformation on social media if they believe those statements could become true in the future, according to new ...

Show Them the Money: Pay the Vaccine-Hesitant to Get Their COVID-19 Shots

A study initiated before the rollout of COVID-19 vaccines has found that a $1000 incentive for the vaccine-hesitant could boost vaccine rates up to 87 percent. The study also speaks to how monetary ...

Private Protected Areas Help Conserve Overlooked and Threatened Regions

New research shows that private protected areas help conserve underrepresented biomes and highly threatened regions. Researchers have assessed 17,561 privately protected areas in 15 countries across ...

Innovation Flows Across Regions and Sectors in Complex Ways, Study Shows

Knowledge creation -- the generation of new ideas and patents -- is an important driver of economic growth. Understanding how knowledge moves across industry sectors and regions can inform research ...

Giving Increased During the Pandemic in Areas Hit Hardest by COVID-19

Charitable giving increased in counties that experienced COVID-19-related deaths, a new study ...

Pandemic Lockdowns Had Severe Mental Health Consequences for Women in the Developing World

While potentially crucial to preventing the spread of COVID-19, lockdowns are associated with increased rates of depression and anxiety as well as food insecurity among women in India and other parts ...

Personality Traits Are Associated With Well-Being and Satisfaction in Life After Work

A new study has identified novel associations between older adults' personality traits, the routes they took to leave their jobs, and their well-being after exiting the ...

IVF Children Shown to Have a Better Quality of Life as Adults in New Study

Being conceived via assisted reproductive technology (ART), such as IVF, may provide some advantages in quality of life in adulthood, according to the results of a new ...

Lack of Transparency Over Cost of Conservation Projects Hampers Ability to Prioritize Funds for Nature Protection

A new study has found that costs of conservation projects are rarely reported, making it difficult for others to make decisions on the most cost-effective interventions at a time when funding for ...

Why Groundwater Is One of Our Most Precious Resources

From the Murray-Darling system to Great Artesian Basin, 'invisible' underground groundwater is often the only water supply available across the vast majority Australia where its annual ...

Heat Stress for Cattle May Cost Billions by Century's End, Study Finds

Climate change poses a potentially devastating economic threat to low-income cattle farmers in poor countries due to increasing heat stress on the animals. Globally, by the end of this century those ...

Thursday, June 23, 2022
Wednesday, June 22, 2022
Monday, June 20, 2022
Friday, June 17, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Thursday, April 7, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Monday, April 4, 2022
Friday, April 1, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Monday, March 7, 2022
Friday, March 4, 2022
Monday, February 28, 2022
Friday, February 25, 2022
Wednesday, February 16, 2022
Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Friday, February 4, 2022
Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Monday, January 31, 2022
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Tuesday, January 25, 2022
Monday, January 24, 2022
Thursday, January 13, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Friday, January 7, 2022
Thursday, January 6, 2022
Monday, December 20, 2021
Monday, December 13, 2021
Thursday, December 9, 2021
Thursday, December 2, 2021
Monday, November 29, 2021
Thursday, November 25, 2021
Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Thursday, November 18, 2021
Tuesday, November 16, 2021
Thursday, November 4, 2021
Wednesday, November 3, 2021
Tuesday, November 2, 2021
Monday, November 1, 2021
Thursday, October 28, 2021
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
Tuesday, October 26, 2021
Tuesday, October 19, 2021
Monday, October 18, 2021
Wednesday, October 13, 2021
Tuesday, October 12, 2021
Thursday, October 7, 2021
Thursday, September 30, 2021
Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Tuesday, September 28, 2021
Tuesday, September 21, 2021
Friday, September 17, 2021
Thursday, September 16, 2021
Wednesday, September 15, 2021
Friday, September 10, 2021
Monday, September 6, 2021
Friday, August 27, 2021
Wednesday, August 25, 2021
Tuesday, August 17, 2021
Thursday, August 12, 2021
Wednesday, August 11, 2021
Tuesday, August 10, 2021
Thursday, August 5, 2021
Wednesday, August 4, 2021
Wednesday, July 28, 2021
Friday, July 23, 2021
Monday, July 19, 2021
Tuesday, July 13, 2021
Monday, July 12, 2021
Thursday, July 8, 2021
Wednesday, July 7, 2021
Monday, July 5, 2021