advertisement
Astrophysics News
June 26, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Flicker from the Dark: Reading Between the Lines to Model Our Galaxy's Central Black Hole

Researchers have shown in a single model the full story of how gas travels in the center of the Milky Way -- from being blown off by stars to falling ...

Gaia Space Telescope Rocks the Science of Asteroids

The European Gaia space mission has produced an unprecedented amount of new, improved, and detailed data for almost two billion objects in the Milky Way galaxy and the surrounding cosmos. The Gaia ...

Mysterious 'Blue Blobs' Reveal a New Kind of Star System

Astronomers identify a new class of stellar system. They're not quite galaxies and only exist in ...

Watching the Death of a Rare Giant Star

Extreme supergiant stars known as hypergiants are very rare, with only a few known to exist in the Milky Way. By tracing molecular emissions in the outflows around the red hypergiant star VY Canis ...
Latest Headlines
updated 9:34am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

NASA Telescope to Help Untangle Galaxy Growth, Dark Matter Makeup

NASA's Nancy Grace Roman Space Telescope will study wispy streams of stars that extend far beyond the apparent edges of many galaxies. Missions like the Hubble and James Webb space telescopes ...

No Signs (Yet) of Life on Venus

The unusual behavior of sulphur in Venus' atmosphere cannot be explained by an 'aerial' form of extra-terrestrial life, according to a new ...

Wandering Star Disrupts Stellar Nursery

New study finds star-forming cloud's magnetic field is curiously twisted. Researchers believe a newborn star moved into another young star's stellar envelope to form a binary star system. ...

Simulations Reveal Hydrodynamics of Planetary Engulfment by Expanding Star

A new study using hydrodynamical simulations reveals the forces acting on a planet when it is swallowed by an expanding star. The results show that the interactions of a substellar body (a planet or ...

Astronomers have discovered what may be a free-floating black hole by observing the brightening of a more distant star as its light was distorted by the object's strong gravitational field -- ...

Ground-Breaking Number of Brown Dwarfs Discovered

Brown dwarfs, mysterious objects that straddle the line between stars and planets, are essential to our understanding of both stellar and planetary populations. However, only 40 brown dwarfs could be ...

What Happened Before, During and After Solar System Formation? A Recent Study of the Asteroid Ryugu Holds the Answers

The Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency's Hayabusa2 mission returned uncontaminated primitive asteroid samples to Earth. A comprehensive analysis of 16 particles from the asteroid Ryugu revealed ...

Particle Accelerator Region Revealed Inside a Solar Flare

A new study offers direct evidence showing where near-light speed particle acceleration occurs inside the largest explosion known in the solar system, the solar ...

How Some High-Energy Particle 'Jets' Lose Energy

Scientists studying particle collisions at the Relativistic Heavy Ion Collider (RHIC) have revealed how certain particle-jets lose energy as they traverse the unique form of nuclear matter created in ...

Yoyo Stars Responsible for Off-Center Bubbles

Astronomers have developed a new code to simulate the formation of a cluster of baby stars. Comparison with the well-known real case of the Orion Nebula shows that its off-center bubble of ionized ...

Detecting New Particles Around Black Holes With Gravitational Waves

Clouds of ultralight particles can form around rotating black holes. A team of physicists now show that these clouds would leave a characteristic imprint on the gravitational waves emitted by binary ...

Colossal Collisions Linked to Solar System Science

A new study shows a deep connection between some of the largest, most energetic events in the universe and much smaller, weaker ones powered by our own ...

Researchers Create 'Time Machine' Simulations Studying the Lifecycle of Ancestor Galaxy 'Cities'

Researchers have created time machine-like simulations recreate the full life cycle of some of the largest collections of galaxies observed in the distant universe 11 billion years ...

Cosmological Gravitational Waves: A New Approach to Reach Back to the Big Bang

Deep analysis of the data from the POLARBEAR Observatory probes the sky region with unprecedented accuracy looking for cosmological gravitational ...

Hubble Space Telescope Captures Largest Near-Infrared Image to Find Universe's Rarest Galaxies

Scientists released the largest near-infrared image ever taken by NASA's Hubble Space Telescope, enabling astronomers to map the star-forming regions of the universe and learn how the earliest, ...

Physicists Announce First Results from The Daya Bay Neutrino Experiment's Final Dataset

Over nearly nine years, the Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino Experiment captured an unprecedented five and a half million interactions from subatomic particles called neutrinos. Now, the international team ...

Astronomy Team Finds Evidence of Galactic Metal Shrouded in Dust

Using NASA's SOFIA observatory and other data resources, an international team of astronomers has uncovered evidence of metals in local galaxies -- found to be deficient in earlier studies -- by ...

Astronomers may now understand why the similar planets Uranus and Neptune are different colors. Researchers have now developed a single atmospheric model that matches observations of both planets. ...

Supermassive Black Holes Inside of Dying Galaxies Detected in Early Universe

An international team of astronomers used a database combining observations from the best telescopes in the world, including the Subaru Telescope, to detect the signal from the active supermassive ...

New Discovery About Distant Galaxies: Stars Are More Massive Than We Thought

A team of astrophysicists has arrived at a major result regarding star populations beyond the Milky Way. The result could change our understanding of a wide range of astronomical phenomena, including ...

Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Tuesday, June 14, 2022
Monday, June 13, 2022
Friday, June 10, 2022
Thursday, June 9, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022
Friday, May 13, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Wednesday, May 11, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Friday, April 22, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Tuesday, April 19, 2022
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Thursday, April 7, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Friday, March 25, 2022
Thursday, March 24, 2022
Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Saturday, March 19, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Saturday, March 12, 2022
Friday, March 11, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Wednesday, March 9, 2022
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Friday, March 4, 2022
Thursday, March 3, 2022
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Friday, February 25, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Monday, February 21, 2022
Thursday, February 17, 2022