advertisement
Extrasolar Planets News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Long-Term Liquid Water Also on Non-Earth-Like Planets?

Liquid water is an important prerequisite for life to develop on a planet. As researchers report in a new study, liquid water could also exist for billions of years on planets that are very different ...
A new study of an old meteorite contradicts current thinking about how rocky planets like the Earth and Mars acquire volatile elements such as hydrogen, carbon, oxygen, ...

Scientists on the Hunt for Planetary Formation Fossils Reveal Unexpected Eccentricities in Nearby Debris Disk

Astronomers have imaged the debris disk of the nearby star HD 53143 at millimeter wavelengths for the first time, and it looks nothing like they ...

Dead Star's Cannibalism of Its Planetary System Is Most Far-Reaching Ever Witnessed

The violent death throes of a nearby star so thoroughly disrupted its planetary system that the dead star left behind -- known as a white dwarf -- is ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:04pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Hubble Probes Extreme Weather on Ultra-Hot Jupiters

Astronomers have discovered bloated Jupiter-sized worlds that are so precariously close to their parent star they are being roasted at seething temperatures above 3,000 degrees Fahrenheit. ...

'Prenatal' Protoplanet Upends Planet Formation Models

An international research team has discovered a new planet so young that it has yet to emerge from the womb of matter where it is forming. This is the youngest protoplanet discovered to date. ...

Methane Could Be the First Detectable Indication of Life Beyond Earth

A new study assesses the planetary context in which the detection of methane in an exoplanet's atmosphere could be considered a compelling sign of ...

Look! Up in the Sky! Is It a Planet? Nope, Just a Star

Among thousands of known exoplanets, astronomers have flagged three that are actually ...

Astronomers Discover Largest Molecule Yet in a Planet-Forming Disc

Using the Atacama Large Millimeter/submillimeter Array (ALMA) in Chile, researchers have for the first time detected dimethyl ether in a planet-forming disc. With nine atoms, this is the largest ...

NASA's Roman Mission Could Snap First Image of a Jupiter-Like World

NASA's Nancy Grace Roman Space Telescope, now under construction, will test new technologies for space-based planet hunting. The mission aims to photograph worlds and dusty disks around nearby ...

'Tatooine-Like' Exoplanet Spotted by Ground-Based Telescope

A rare exoplanet which orbits around two stars at once has been detected using a ground-based telescope. The planet, called Kepler-16b, has so far only been seen using the Kepler space telescope. It ...

A 'Hot Jupiter’s' Dark Side Is Revealed in Detail for First Time

Astronomers have obtained the clearest view yet of the perpetual dark side of an exoplanet that is 'tidally locked' to its star. The planet is WASP-121b, a massive gas giant nearly twice ...

Planetary Bodies Observed for First Time in 'Habitable Zone' of Dead Star

A ring of planetary debris studded with moon-sized structures has been observed orbiting close to a white dwarf star, hinting at a nearby planet in the 'habitable zone' where water and life ...

New Planet Detected Around Proxima Centauri, Closest Star Our Solar System

Astronomers have found evidence of another planet orbiting Proxima Centauri, the closest star to our Solar System. This candidate planet is the third detected in the system and the lightest yet ...

Puffy Planets Lose Atmospheres, Become Super-Earths

Astronomers have identified two different cases of 'mini-Neptune' planets that are losing their puffy atmospheres and likely transforming into ...

Moons May Yield Clues to What Makes Planets Habitable

Because the moon is so important to life on Earth, scientists conjecture that a moon may be a potentially beneficial feature in harboring life on other planets. Most planets have moons, but ...

Even Dying Stars Can Still Give Birth to Planets

Planets are usually not much older than the stars around which they revolve. Take the Sun: it was born 4.6 billion years ago, and not long after that, Earth came into the world. But astronomers have ...

Extreme Exoplanet Has a Complex and Exotic Atmosphere

An international team analyzed the atmosphere of one of the most extreme known planets in great detail. The results from this hot, Jupiter-like planet that was first characterized with the help of ...

Unusual Team Finds Gigantic Planet Hidden in Plain Sight

An astronomer and a group of eagle-eyed citizen scientists have discovered a giant gas planet hidden from view by typical stargazing ...

Newly-Found Planets on the Edge of Destruction

Astronomers have found three Jupiter-like exoplanets that are dangerously close to being 'swallowed up' by their host stars. The discovery gives new insight into how planetary systems ...

New Insights Into Seasons on a Planet Outside Our Solar System

Imagine being in a place where the winds are so strong that they move at the speed of sound. That's just one aspect of the atmosphere on XO-3b, one of a class of exoplanets (planets outside our ...

Rugby Ball-Shaped Exoplanet Discovered

With the help of the CHEOPS space telescope, an international team was able to detect the deformation of an exoplanet for the first time. Due to strong tidal forces, the appearance of the planet ...

Eccentric Exoplanet Discovered

An international research team has discovered a sub-Neptune exoplanet orbiting a red dwarf ...

Astronomers Uncover Largest Group of Rogue Planets Yet

Rogue planets are elusive cosmic objects that have masses comparable to those of the planets in our Solar System but do not orbit a star, instead roaming freely on their own. Not many were known ...

Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Monday, April 4, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Monday, February 21, 2022
Friday, February 11, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Friday, January 28, 2022
Thursday, January 13, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Friday, January 7, 2022
Wednesday, December 22, 2021
Thursday, December 9, 2021
Wednesday, December 8, 2021
Thursday, December 2, 2021
Thursday, November 25, 2021
Tuesday, November 23, 2021
Friday, November 12, 2021
Wednesday, November 10, 2021
Wednesday, October 27, 2021
Friday, October 22, 2021
Thursday, October 21, 2021
Wednesday, October 20, 2021
Thursday, October 14, 2021
Monday, October 11, 2021
Tuesday, October 5, 2021
Saturday, October 2, 2021
Thursday, September 30, 2021
Wednesday, September 29, 2021
Monday, September 20, 2021
Monday, August 30, 2021
Friday, August 27, 2021
Wednesday, August 25, 2021
Thursday, August 5, 2021
Thursday, July 29, 2021
Thursday, July 22, 2021
Monday, July 12, 2021
Friday, July 2, 2021
Monday, June 28, 2021
Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Wednesday, June 16, 2021
Friday, June 11, 2021
Wednesday, June 9, 2021
Monday, May 10, 2021
Tuesday, May 4, 2021
Thursday, April 29, 2021
Tuesday, April 27, 2021
Thursday, April 22, 2021
Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Friday, April 16, 2021
Thursday, April 15, 2021
Wednesday, April 7, 2021
Monday, March 15, 2021
Thursday, March 11, 2021
Monday, March 8, 2021
Friday, March 5, 2021
Thursday, March 4, 2021
Monday, February 22, 2021
Wednesday, February 17, 2021
Friday, February 12, 2021
Thursday, February 11, 2021
Wednesday, February 10, 2021
Tuesday, February 9, 2021
Thursday, January 28, 2021
Monday, January 25, 2021
Friday, January 22, 2021
Thursday, January 21, 2021
Monday, January 18, 2021
Thursday, January 7, 2021
Monday, December 21, 2020
Wednesday, December 16, 2020
Thursday, December 10, 2020
Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Friday, November 6, 2020