advertisement
Space Telescopes News
June 26, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Scientists Map Sulfur Residue on Jupiter's Icy Moon Europa

A team has used the Hubble Space Telescope to observe Jupiter's moon, Europa, at ultraviolet wavelengths, filling in a 'gap' in the various wavelengths used to observe this icy water world. The ...

Mysterious 'Blue Blobs' Reveal a New Kind of Star System

Astronomers identify a new class of stellar system. They're not quite galaxies and only exist in ...

Watching the Death of a Rare Giant Star

Extreme supergiant stars known as hypergiants are very rare, with only a few known to exist in the Milky Way. By tracing molecular emissions in the outflows around the red hypergiant star VY Canis ...

Scientists on the Hunt for Planetary Formation Fossils Reveal Unexpected Eccentricities in Nearby Debris Disk

Astronomers have imaged the debris disk of the nearby star HD 53143 at millimeter wavelengths for the first time, and it looks nothing like they ...
Latest Headlines
updated 10:04am EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Astronomers have discovered what may be a free-floating black hole by observing the brightening of a more distant star as its light was distorted by the object's strong gravitational field -- ...

Ground-Breaking Number of Brown Dwarfs Discovered

Brown dwarfs, mysterious objects that straddle the line between stars and planets, are essential to our understanding of both stellar and planetary populations. However, only 40 brown dwarfs could be ...

Rapid-Fire Fast Radio Burst Shows Hot Space Between Galaxies

A recently discovered, rare and persistent rapid-fire fast radio burst source -- sending out an occasional and informative cosmic ping from more than 3.5 billion light years away -- helps to reveal ...

Particle Accelerator Region Revealed Inside a Solar Flare

A new study offers direct evidence showing where near-light speed particle acceleration occurs inside the largest explosion known in the solar system, the solar ...

Colossal Collisions Linked to Solar System Science

A new study shows a deep connection between some of the largest, most energetic events in the universe and much smaller, weaker ones powered by our own ...

Cosmological Gravitational Waves: A New Approach to Reach Back to the Big Bang

Deep analysis of the data from the POLARBEAR Observatory probes the sky region with unprecedented accuracy looking for cosmological gravitational ...

Hubble Space Telescope Captures Largest Near-Infrared Image to Find Universe's Rarest Galaxies

Scientists released the largest near-infrared image ever taken by NASA's Hubble Space Telescope, enabling astronomers to map the star-forming regions of the universe and learn how the earliest, ...

Astronomy Team Finds Evidence of Galactic Metal Shrouded in Dust

Using NASA's SOFIA observatory and other data resources, an international team of astronomers has uncovered evidence of metals in local galaxies -- found to be deficient in earlier studies -- by ...

Astronomers may now understand why the similar planets Uranus and Neptune are different colors. Researchers have now developed a single atmospheric model that matches observations of both planets. ...

Supermassive Black Holes Inside of Dying Galaxies Detected in Early Universe

An international team of astronomers used a database combining observations from the best telescopes in the world, including the Subaru Telescope, to detect the signal from the active supermassive ...

New Discovery About Distant Galaxies: Stars Are More Massive Than We Thought

A team of astrophysicists has arrived at a major result regarding star populations beyond the Milky Way. The result could change our understanding of a wide range of astronomical phenomena, including ...

Hubble Reaches New Milestone in Mystery of Universe's Expansion Rate

NASA's Hubble Space Telescope has calibrated more than 40 'milepost markers' of space and time to help scientists precisely measure the expansion rate of the universe -- a quest with a ...

AI Reveals Unsuspected Math Underlying Search for Exoplanets

The astronomers' goal: find an artificial intelligence algorithm to interpret microlensing events captured by the upcoming Roman Space Telescope and speed detection of exoplanets around other ...

Planets of Binary Stars as Possible Homes for Alien Life

Nearly half of Sun-size stars are binary. According to new research, planetary systems around binary stars may be very different from those around single stars. This points to new targets in the ...

Researchers Use Galaxy as a 'Cosmic Telescope' to Study Heart of the Young Universe

A unique new instrument, coupled with a powerful telescope and a little help from nature, has given researchers the ability to peer into galactic nurseries at the heart of the young ...

Astronomers have unveiled the first image of the supermassive black hole at the center of our own Milky Way galaxy. This result provides overwhelming evidence that the object is indeed a black hole ...

Explosion on a White Dwarf Observed

When stars like our Sun use up all their fuel, they shrink to form white dwarfs. Sometimes such dead stars flare back to life in a super hot explosion and produce a fireball of X-ray radiation. A ...

Astronomers Find 'Gold Standard' Star in Milky Way

In our sun's neighborhood of the Milky Way Galaxy is a relatively bright star, and in it, astronomers have been able to identify the widest range of elements in a star beyond our solar system ...

In a Pair of Merging Supermassive Black Holes, a New Method for Measuring the Void

Researchers have devised a potentially easier way of gazing into the abyss. Their imaging technique could allow astronomers to study black holes smaller than M87's, a monster with a mass of 6.5 ...

Hubble Reveals Surviving Companion Star in Aftermath of Supernova

It's not unheard of to find a surviving star at the scene of a titanic supernova explosion, which would be expected to obliterate everything around it, but new research has provided a ...

Friday, June 10, 2022
Thursday, June 9, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Tuesday, May 3, 2022
Monday, May 2, 2022
Wednesday, April 27, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Thursday, April 14, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Monday, April 11, 2022
Thursday, April 7, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Monday, April 4, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Thursday, March 24, 2022
Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Saturday, March 19, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Friday, March 11, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Friday, February 25, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Monday, February 21, 2022
Wednesday, February 16, 2022
Friday, February 11, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Wednesday, February 9, 2022
Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Friday, January 28, 2022
Thursday, January 27, 2022
Monday, January 24, 2022
Friday, January 21, 2022
Wednesday, January 19, 2022
Thursday, January 13, 2022
Wednesday, January 12, 2022
Tuesday, January 11, 2022
Monday, January 10, 2022
Saturday, January 8, 2022
Friday, January 7, 2022
Thursday, January 6, 2022
Wednesday, January 5, 2022
Saturday, December 25, 2021
Wednesday, December 22, 2021
Monday, December 20, 2021
Thursday, December 16, 2021
Tuesday, December 14, 2021
Monday, December 13, 2021
Friday, December 10, 2021
Thursday, December 9, 2021