advertisement
Human Quirks News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

Scent of a Friend: Similarities in Body Odor May Contribute to Social Bonding

Researchers have found that people may have a tendency to form friendships with individuals who have a similar body odor. The researchers were even ...

Supernumerary Virtual Robotic Arms Can Feel Like Part of Our Body

Researchers have developed a virtual robotic limb system which can be operated by users' feet in a virtual environment as extra, or supernumerary, limbs. After training, users reported feeling like ...
The neural and cognitive complexity of the octopus could originate from a molecular analogy with the human brain, according to a new study. The research shows that the same ...

Are Babies the Key to the Next Generation of Artificial Intelligence?

Babies can help unlock the next generation of artificial intelligence (AI), according to neuroscientists who have just published new guiding principles for improving AI. The research examines the ...
Latest Headlines
updated 6:12pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

The Limits of Vision: Seeing Shadows in the Dark

A specific retinal pathway enables mice to detect incredibly dim shadows -- nearly reaching the limit of what's physically possible. The same circuit is in human eyes, which might enable ...

Component for Brain-Inspired Computing

Researchers have developed a new material for an electronic component that can be used in a wider range of applications than its predecessors. Such components will help create electronic circuits ...

Scientists See Signs of Traumatic Brain Injury in Headbutting Muskox

Scientists saw for the first time hallmarks of concussions and other head trauma in the brains of deceased headbutting animals -- muskoxen and bighorn sheep. The results may contradict the ...

Scent Dogs Detect Coronavirus Reliably from Skin Swabs

A recent study confirmed that scent detection dogs can be taught to identify individuals with a coronavirus infection from skin swabs. In the experimental set-up at Finland's Helsinki-Vantaa ...

Evidence of structured vocal sequences in wild chimpanzee communication provides insights into human language ...

Electronic Skin: Physicist Develops Multisensory Hybrid Material

Recently developed 'smart skin' is very similar to human skin. It senses pressure, humidity and temperature simultaneously and produces electronic signals. More sensitive robots or more ...

Chemists Synthesize Psychotropic Compound from Rainforest Tree

Scientists found a chemical from a rainforest tree that binds to opioid receptors in the brain and may have utility as an antidepressant or anti-anxiety ...

The cnidocytes -- or stinging cells -- that are characteristic of sea anemones, hydrae, corals and jellyfish, and make us careful of our feet while wading in the ocean, are also an excellent model ...

Bacteria With Recording Function Capture Gut Health Status

Researchers have equipped gut bacteria with data logger functionality as a way of monitoring which genes are active in the bacteria. These microorganisms could one day offer a noninvasive means of ...

Artificial Cell Membrane Channels Composed of DNA Can Be Opened and Locked With a Key

Scientists describe the design and construction of artificial membrane channels, engineered using short segments of DNA. The DNA constructions behave much in the manner of natural cell channels or ...

Exposing Liars by Distraction

It is well documented that lying during interviews takes up more cognitive energy than telling the truth.  A new study found that investigators who used this finding to their advantage by asking a ...

How the Brain Says 'Oops!'

Researchers have uncovered how signals from a group of neurons in the brain's frontal lobe simultaneously give humans the flexibility to learn new tasks -- and the focus to develop highly ...

Quantum Mechanics Could Explain Why DNA Can Spontaneously Mutate

The molecules of life, DNA, replicate with astounding precision, yet this process is not immune to mistakes and can lead to mutations. Using sophisticated computer modelling, a team of physicists and ...

Links Between Paranormal Beliefs and Cognitive Function Described by 40 Years of Research

In a review of 71 studies that explored links between belief in paranormal phenomena and cognitive function, most of the findings align with the hypothesis that such beliefs are associated with ...

Fecal Transplants Reverse Hallmarks of Aging

In the search for eternal youth, fecal transplants may seem like an unlikely way to reverse the aging process. However, scientists have provided evidence, from research in mice, that transplanting ...

New Miniature Heart Could Help Speed Heart Disease Cures

A team of engineers, biologists, and geneticists has developed a new way of studying the heart: they've built a miniature replica of a heart chamber from a combination of nanoengineered parts ...

This Algorithm Has Opinions About Your Face

Researchers have now taught an AI algorithm to model first impressions and accurately predict how people will be perceived based on a photograph of their ...

Highway Death Toll Messages Cause More Crashes

Displaying the highway death toll on message boards is a common awareness campaign, but new research shows this tactic actually leads to more crashes. This new study evaluated the effect of ...

Microdrones With Light-Driven Nanomotors

Physicists have managed to propel micrometer-sized drones precisely using light only. Their microdrones are significantly smaller than red blood ...

Joystick-Operated Robot Could Help Surgeons Treat Stroke Remotely

Engineers developed a telerobotic system to help surgeons remotely treat patients experiencing stroke or aneurysm. With a modified joystick, surgeons may control a robotic arm at another hospital to ...

Monday, May 23, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Friday, April 22, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022
Wednesday, April 13, 2022
Tuesday, April 12, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Monday, April 4, 2022
Friday, April 1, 2022
Wednesday, March 30, 2022
Tuesday, March 29, 2022
Monday, March 28, 2022
Friday, March 25, 2022
Thursday, March 24, 2022
Wednesday, March 23, 2022
Tuesday, March 22, 2022
Monday, March 21, 2022
Friday, March 18, 2022
Thursday, March 17, 2022
Wednesday, March 16, 2022
Tuesday, March 15, 2022
Monday, March 14, 2022
Friday, March 11, 2022
Thursday, March 10, 2022
Wednesday, March 9, 2022
Tuesday, March 8, 2022
Monday, March 7, 2022
Wednesday, March 2, 2022
Tuesday, March 1, 2022
Friday, February 25, 2022
Thursday, February 24, 2022
Wednesday, February 23, 2022
Tuesday, February 22, 2022
Thursday, February 17, 2022
Wednesday, February 16, 2022
Monday, February 14, 2022
Friday, February 11, 2022
Thursday, February 10, 2022
Wednesday, February 9, 2022
Tuesday, February 8, 2022
Thursday, February 3, 2022
Wednesday, February 2, 2022
Tuesday, February 1, 2022
Friday, January 28, 2022
Wednesday, January 26, 2022
Monday, January 24, 2022
Friday, January 21, 2022
Thursday, January 20, 2022