advertisement
Odd Creatures News
June 28, 2022

Top Headlines
 

By Odin's Beard! Tubulins Named After the Norse God May Be the Missing Link Between Single-Celled Organisms and Human Cells

The 'missing link' between bacterial cells and human and plant cells offers key to the process of eukaryogenesis, the point at which animal and plant ...

Climate Damage Caused by Growing Space Tourism Needs Urgent Mitigation

A formidable space tourism industry may have a greater climate effect than the aviation industry and undo repair to the protective ozone layer if left unregulated, according to a new ...

Ancient Microbes May Help Us Find Extraterrestrial Life Forms

Using light-capturing proteins in living microbes, scientists helped reconstruct what life was like for some of Earth's earliest organisms. These efforts could help us one day recognize signs of life ...

3D Printing of 'Organic Electronics'

A research group has explored the potential production of micro-scale organic electronics for use in bioelectronics via multiphoton 3-D ...
Latest Headlines
updated 4:42pm EDT

Earlier Headlines
 

Megalodon sharks, which went extinct about 3 million years ago, were three times longer than modern great white sharks and were apex predators at highest trophic level ever measured. Researchers used ...

When the World of Nanotechnology and Microbreweries Meet

Researchers have shown that microbrewery waste can be used as a carbon source to synthesize quantum ...

Research With a Bite

How hard can insects bite? Having a strong chewing apparatus makes it easier to crush harder food and to succeed in fights with enemies. Biologists now present a mobile system (forceX) for measuring ...

Custom Suits for Worms That Really Deliver

Researchers have found that nematodes can be coated with a protective hydrogel sheath that can be engineered to carry functional cargo. This system could potentially be developed to deliver ...

The Secret Lives of Mites in the Skin of Our Faces

A full DNA analysis of mites that live in the hair follicles of all humans reveals explanations for their bizarre mating habits, body features and evolutionary future. Inbreeding and isolation means ...

A Rare Discovery of Long-Term Memory in Wild Frog-Eating Bats

Frog-eating bats trained by researchers to associate a phone ringtone with a tasty treat were able to remember what they learned for up to four years in the wild, new research has ...

Sharks May Be Closer to the City Than You Think, New Study Finds

The world's coastlines are rapidly urbanizing, but how this increased human presence may impact species living in the ocean is not fully understood. Scientists tracked the movements of three ...

100,000-Year-Old Polar Bear Genome Reveals Ancient Hybridization With Brown Bears

An analysis of ancient DNA from a 100,000-year-old polar bear has revealed that extensive hybridization between polar bears and brown bears occurred during the last warm interglacial period in the ...

Researchers Reconstruct the Genome of Centuries-Old E. Coli Using Fragments Extracted from an Italian Mummy

Researchers have identified and reconstructed the first ancient genome of E. coli, using fragments extracted from the gallstone of a 16th century ...

Researchers Discover Crocodile Species That Likely Preyed on Human Ancestors

Researchers have discovered two new species of crocodiles that roamed parts of Africa between 18 million and 15 million years ago and preyed on human ancestors. The giant dwarf crocodile species, ...

Genetic Discovery Could Spell Mosquitoes' Death Knell

A genetic discovery could turn disease-carrying mosquitoes into insect Peter Pans, preventing them from ever maturing or ...

A Large Predator from the Pyrenees

A fossilized lower jaw has led an international team of palaeontologists to discover a new species of predator that once lived in Europe. These large predators belong to a group of carnivores ...

Moth Wing-Inspired Sound Absorbing Wallpaper in Sight After Breakthrough

Experts at the University of Bristol have discovered that the scales on moth wings act as excellent sound absorbers even when placed on an artificial ...

River Belt Discovery Helps Scientists Understand Ancient Rivers

A researcher has come up with a rule that connects channel belts to river patterns, finding that, in general, the more channels a river has, the narrower its channel belt. Since the physics shaping ...

A Biological Super Glue from Mistletoe Berries?

Researchers suggests that mistletoe viscin's ultra-stiff flexible fibers, which adhere to both skin and cartilage as well as to various synthetic materials, could have a range of applications -- ...

Gravity-Defying Spike Waves Rewrite the Rule Book

Researchers studying wave breaking have found that axisymmetric 'spike waves' can far exceed limits that were previously thought to dictate the maximum height of ocean ...

Seal Whiskers, the Secret Weapon for Hunting

The deep ocean is a dark place, yet deep-diving seals can easily locate their prey in that darkness. A multi-national research team has used field-based studies to better understand how seals use ...

Mastodon Tusk Chemical Analysis Reveals First Evidence of One Extinct Animal's Annual Migration

Around 13,200 years ago, a roving male mastodon died in a bloody mating-season battle with a rival in what today is northeast Indiana, nearly 100 miles from his home territory, according to the first ...

Rubbery Camouflage Skin Exhibits Smart and Stretchy Behaviors

The skin of cephalopods, such as octopuses, squids and cuttlefish, is stretchy and smart, contributing to these creatures' ability to sense and respond to their surroundings. Scientists have ...

'Fantastic Giant Tortoise,' Believed Extinct, Confirmed Alive in the Galápagos

A tortoise from a Galápagos species long believed extinct has been found alive. Fernanda, named after her Fernandina Island home, is the first of her species identified in more than a century. ...

Wednesday, June 22, 2022
Monday, June 20, 2022
Thursday, June 16, 2022
Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Tuesday, June 14, 2022
Monday, June 13, 2022
Thursday, June 9, 2022
Wednesday, June 8, 2022
Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Monday, June 6, 2022
Friday, June 3, 2022
Thursday, June 2, 2022
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Friday, May 27, 2022
Thursday, May 26, 2022
Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Monday, May 23, 2022
Friday, May 20, 2022
Thursday, May 19, 2022
Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Tuesday, May 17, 2022
Monday, May 16, 2022
Friday, May 13, 2022
Thursday, May 12, 2022
Tuesday, May 10, 2022
Monday, May 9, 2022
Thursday, May 5, 2022
Wednesday, May 4, 2022
Thursday, April 28, 2022
Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Monday, April 25, 2022
Thursday, April 21, 2022
Wednesday, April 20, 2022
Monday, April 18, 2022
Monday, April 11, 2022
Friday, April 8, 2022
Thursday, April 7, 2022
Wednesday, April 6, 2022
Tuesday, April 5, 2022
Monday, April 4, 2022